The Pent Up Heart in Everyday Ramblings

  • June 3, 2017, 3:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It is overcast and Saturday here. I appreciate the weekends in such a deep way these days. It is just past noon and I have been to my Weight Watchers meeting, the Farmers Market, walked 6.27 miles and interacted a great deal with my two feline roommates, both of whom were standing next to me by the sink as I used the “straw technique” to take the tops off and eat a few gorgeous fresh picked first of the season strawberries.

The big excitement this week in my world is that after close to a year the fences came down at the refurbished track across the big street! Be still my inner pony’s heart. They took the no trespassing signs off Thursday afternoon and a big chunk of the fence disappeared so I was able to walk a half-mile on the cushy new surface after work and my regular neighborhood evening photography walk.

I was too busy yesterday with grocery shopping and teaching but I did walk around once this morning to get to my bus.

Let “Track Life” resume!

When I was coming home from class last night in the evening I saw my upstairs neighbor walking it.

There is a woman that I have seen for years, she used to play the noon pickup basketball game with the guys at the gym when it still was a gym and then when they closed that I would see her midday out on the track and in the last year either running or walking through the neighborhood. She is a platinum blonde and I have never seen her with anyone else.

She was on the bus yesterday and I told her the track was back and she was so pleased. I’ve never talked to her before.

Sadly, what I have not seen this week, not once on any form of public transportation, even though we have 50,000 practicing Muslims here, is a woman wearing a headscarf.

To have to live in fear…

We have these rallies planned for tomorrow afternoon that are supposed to be for “free speech” but in fact are about saying whatever offensive racist thing you can think of and wrapping them in the guise of patriotism. The perpetrator of the hate crime/terrorist act on our light rail has been photographed wearing an American flag like a cape, and this group holding the rally is similar in nature.

The parents of the young man who survived having his throat cut (the father who works in our IT Department) have asked that the rallies (and counter rallies) be canceled but last I heard they were going to go ahead with them. There is a group of Buddhists that are gathering to meditate together on Peace nearby but the parents have asked even them not to show up.

These are sad times for our Democracy, but also times that show just how vital and alive it is. May we keep it that way until we can get these heartless selfish people removed from office!

In the meantime I am enjoying this quiet weekend afternoon and plan to gear up and go over to the track and practice letting my pony run her pent up heart out.


Last updated June 03, 2017


Lyn June 03, 2017

Love the pic.

Cool that you still use the strawberry trick. 🍓

Cheers to your inner pony. 🐎

Deleted user June 03, 2017

Yeah for the track reopening !

Deleted user June 03, 2017

Great news about your track! Your pony heart ha!
Sad to read about all the negativity and hatred that comes out of the woodwork once there is a leader. It could happen here too...Canadians often think it couldn't. But there are lots in the woodwork here too. And out!

Zipster June 04, 2017

You are so right; sad times when people think freedom of speech means freedom to abuse.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.