I Do(ula) in 2017

  • June 2, 2017, 11:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been contemplating on and off for some time now, but Im pretty sure Im ready to pull the trigger. Not TODAY, because today my life is crazy. But in a few months or however long it takes for this dust to settle, Im pretty sure Im going back to school.

Ive always been medically inclined. Nursing is out, due to my left sided weakness, but there are always other options. I completed medical assisting school in 2008 and immediately started work in an OBGYN office. I love birthy stuff. My natural birth with Orion was life changing....and birthing Ivy, completely on my own, in my house.....well, yeah the outcome is just awful, but the labor? I OWNED that labor. Somehow despite puking with every contraction during transition and being stuck in a tiny bathroom, frozen at the end…I was so very in control. I labored and birthed her. I did. And never once hit a moment where i felt unable of doing so. I cant even describe it adequately. Birth is life changing. All three of my births were amazing in their own unique ways. I’ve attended one birth as a support (my cousins) and it was just the coolest honor to be there. This is my passion. To be a doula. I can get dual training to support women in birth in every trimester. In any outcome.

This career path feels like it has so much potential. I can be surrounded by live birth and joy and the creation of a new family dynamic while also getting to support families that will be saying hello and goodbye to their children. It truly is the best of both worlds to think I can honor the importance of each child’s life, regardless of pregnancy outcome.

Obviously, right NOW is not the time to start the training, but Im getting excited about gathering information on different programs.


*Mrs.P* June 03, 2017

Very exciting!

Oceanne June 04, 2017

I think it's a great career path, especially for those of us who have lost babies and can eventually give the help and support future grieving families will need.

Lina June 05, 2017

its such a great option!

heartful June 09, 2017

Love this!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.