Heroin is a mother fucker. My older brother has overdosed on heroin and nearly died too many times to count. I have zero trust with him. I love him. He's my brother so I'll always have a certain bond there.... but I will not foster any type of relationship with him. I'm sure there are times when he's sober but I can never tell if he's lying or not. He started getting into drugs when he was a teenager and he's been an addict ever since. Last year he overdosed while my nephews (5 and 3) were in his care one weekend. His ex-wife broke down his door after 2 days of him not answering the phone and found him passed out with a needle in his arm. I know one day I'm going to get that call from one of our siblings telling me he died. It's like he's been dead to me for a long time now anyway. I wish.... oh how I wish I could tell you stories with happy endings.... I'm sorry I personally don't know of any but I'm sure other people do. I can't tell you not to be scared of relapse.... it is a reasonable fear to have. All I can say is that you have no control over the choices Matt makes. All you can do is love him. Just love him be there for him. No matter what, you are a survivor, and you'll get through this too.