A Rose, A Meditation and Well...Feet in Everyday Ramblings

  • May 30, 2017, 9:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Kes was up Sunday helping her best friend sort and unpack some things she brought home from her father’s house in Toronto after his death last year. The friend has just completed an intensive remodel of her condo and is now integrating her family’s things into her own. Something so many of us are doing as our parents sadly transition out of our lives.

After they had lunch Kes came over to hang out a bit with Carlo and Diego and drop off some provisions she so kindly picked up for me. She also spent some time (kindly again) looking at a big batch of recent flower pictures I shared with her and I noticed she was responding in particular to the pictures of roses.

We also talked about and did a little work with her feet. I have to say that based on what I know now about older feet there is no way I am wearing flip flops or Crocs for more than a trip out to get the paper!

Her arches have completely fallen and that throws the whole leg, hip, pelvis array out of alignment and causes discomfort in a myriad of ways.

And now she needs to make a decision about surgery. She is researching and buying first everyday shoes to stabilize and support and now sandals and also slippers. She is beyond the point where orthotics will help.

There is quite a bit she can do from a yogic or physical therapy perspective but that means consistent gentle exercises more than once a day, which is a difficult challenge for any of us. I face that now with my back. The time and the motivation to do the very specific strengthening I need to do every day.

Did I go to the gym this long weekend?

Ummm, no.

It was so beautiful out, so astonishingly beautiful and even when it wasn’t it was cool and dry and I walked a little over 9 miles yesterday. My banged up knee is a little concerned about that but I will keep a watchful eye on it. I wanted to test out my new running shoes on a bit longer distance and while the toe box is wide enough and comfortable for my bunion, which is really cool, my feet are not.

Cool. I had to stop at one point and take my shoes and socks off to air out my hot feet.

I know, First World Problem!

I seem to remember using body glide, adjusting my socks and not drinking soda all helped with this in the past. The skin on the soles of my feet is definitely thinner than it was even two years ago.

Last night in class we practiced the light in the heart meditation and one of my students who was raised and lived as a very serious Catholic for a number of years mentioned at the end of class that it was very similar to the idea of the Sacred Heart and I was thrilled to hear that because the source material I was using referenced that as well.

Communication works on so many subtle levels and is endlessly fascinating.


Last updated May 30, 2017


Deleted user May 30, 2017

It is ...our minds are capable of having so much more control over our bodies than we use them for .
That is rough about Kes's feet . I hope she finds a natural solution and can skip having surgery .

Zipster May 30, 2017

As I age I realize more and more how important mobility is and to not take it for granted. That old song comes to mind about the bones all being connected. I hope the best for Kes. And for your back.

woman in the moon May 30, 2017

A nine mile walk is a very good thing. I don't know when/if I'll be up for one.
I brought a yoga book home from the library. I noticed it had a lot of the exercises we did when I took the yoga-pilates class. But I haven't looked at the book in the week since I got it. I have no discipline.
I've have flip flops on right now. I went for my 3-ish mile walk this morning in them. I shouldn't have done that, huh?
Book is Idiot's Guide to Yoga. Wait that was a mistake. I should have gotten Smart Person's Guide to Yoga. Author/compiler is Sarah Herrington.

woman in the moon May 30, 2017

Just opened the book t0 a Sylvia Plath quote -

I took a deep breath and listened to the old brag of my heart. I am, I am, I am.

Not bad.

noko woman in the moon ⋅ May 30, 2017

You can't beat a Sylvia Plath quote in a book on yoga basics. :)

Ragdolls May 30, 2017

In 1979, building a new home, I met a man that was wearing sandals in the dead of winter with lots of snow on the ground. He was installing the alarm system in that house & noticed me looking at his feet. He proceeded to tell me that he suffered from what he called "hot foot syndrome". I'd never heard of such a thing and haven't since. He said that he had it all his life. Beautiful rose!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.