EXTEMPORANEOUSLY in Postcards 4

  • May 28, 2017, 4:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I keep telling people…you gotta own a truck. No household is complete without a truck. It doesn’t do any good when talking to folks on limited incomes. Even richer folks with many cars and no trucks can’t be talked into it. However good their intentions, if they don’t have a truck, that’s it.

Once a month a group of us have a BBQ. G and I bought a nice grill at Sears, and for two years we kept it in our garage. Others kept it in following years, but the enthusiasm for keeping it, cleaning it, and transporting it to the meeting seems to have waned. Two nice folks who have been around a while said they could keep it at their place. Wonderful, we said. But they don’t have a truck.

It seems we are back in the transportation business. They will store it, and keep it all summer plus the long 6 months of dark, non-BBQ months. We will clean it and move it. A compromise that I’m not fond of as I helped clean away grease for three years already.

I’ll grumpily stick to my opinions that every home should have their own pick-em-up truck.



  • Himself: Scrubbing BBQ, lunch, visiting Poolie with goodie, enjoying the sunshine, and being Chair tonight.

  • Herself: Ditto except being the leader tonight…yes I am grateful for a script but can I see it? Tonight I am leading a meeting. Margot is coming as is Mary and her son. Claudia is coming too. I only have to extemporaneously talk for one minute.

  • Reading: Katherine Graham.

  • Gratitude’s: That I have consciously or unconsciously reached 33 years.


NorthernSeeker May 28, 2017

We've always wanted a truck but at the end of the day they are a very expensive piece of machinery to own. They have limited seating and they get terrible gas mileage. If you own a truck people are always asking you to help them out with transportation. We've never had a truck but if we ever win the lottery....

aunty EM May 28, 2017

The first thing Papa did when he retired was buy himself a big 4-Wheel drive Dodge truck. He'd had use of a company pickup for nearly 40 years and couldn't imagine life with out one. That was great until we moved to the city... too big to park...to hard to maneuver in traffic... so after a couple of years he reluctantly traded it off for a small SUV. Made us very sad...

Deleted user May 28, 2017

I agree ! Frank tries to use my VW bug like a pick up truck and it's very annoying . He had to have a Camaro , which is useless for anything practical. I love trucks :-)

GypsyWynd May 28, 2017

That's a great picture of George. I've never owned a truck. I doubt I ever will. The thought of driving anything that large scares me to death. The next best thing to having a truck, though, is having a friend who has one. My friends (and former neighbors, till I moved) Scott and Karen both owned trucks at some point.....and thankfully were always willing to lug things around if necessary (I remember Scott driving cross town to bring my grandparents the 27" TV we'd bought them for Christmas)

Brakeshoe Bob May 28, 2017

The old rail has a 2007 GMC 4X4 Canyon Crew cab. Still the best truck I owned. Yeah my son uses it time to time. MAKE SURE IT COMES BACK WITH GAS IN IT. Yeah I bit one time when on fumes and trying to find a station to fill GRRRRRRRRRRR.

Ragdolls May 29, 2017

I have an old 1992 Dodge Dakota club cab that has low miles that I wouldn't trade for anything right now. I don't care what people think about it either. It's a workhorse.

Marg May 29, 2017

Truck advice duly noted.

33 years is a brilliant achievement and an inspiration!

Deleted user May 30, 2017

The thing about trucks is... anyone who is moving will certainly try to get your help! Ha ha.

MageB Deleted user ⋅ May 31, 2017

LOL Not ours. We have a lid on it. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.