FLAGS in Postcards 4

  • May 26, 2017, 10:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had no interest in flags as photo subjects until I took this picture. The drama of a full sized garrison flag, that’s the biggest one, on the side of a dry dock caught my attention. I was at a retirement reception on the local sub base and looked out the window. There it was.

Since that day, I have actively chased down flags that are doing things….drama in movement. Who knew I would grow to appreciate them. My biggest problem over the years has been photo loss as my computers died. I’ve lost many, but this one was saved from an online source. It’s small and fuzzy, but I have it.



  • Himself: Cleaned the meeting BBQ in a local carwash last night. It’s been ignored for two years and we couldn’t get all the burned on stuff off. Work way to early…little lunch yesterday. Next three days off. Going to a lecture on Russian cars tomorrow. Designing his Comic Con costume. Giving me token. BBQ after meeting.

  • Herself: I was only semi useful with the BBQ last night. All the morning things. Class. Speech tonight…on how not to get sober. Thinking about not posting on weekends. Maybe yes, maybe no.

  • Reading: Not done with “Journals” but it has to go back to the library. I have the “Residence” that I can read until my own copy of Schlesinger’s book arrives. It’s dry.

  • Gratitude’s: George, always George.


Last updated May 26, 2017


Deleted user May 26, 2017

Great picture! Have a good weekend !

MageB Deleted user ⋅ May 26, 2017

Thanks. :)

Zipster May 26, 2017

;)

gattaca May 27, 2017

That is some flag!

NorthernSeeker May 28, 2017

I'm curious how you use the carwash to clean your BBQ. What do you do there?

MageB NorthernSeeker ⋅ May 28, 2017

Grumpy has a lid. We raise the lid, roll the BBQ out on it's two whells, remove the top and the inside parts, spray most of it down with Easy Off Oven Cleaner, wait 15 minutes, spray it down with the soap wand, and rinse with the rinse wand. LOL We put it back together, and off we go. The last 3 folks didn't clean it very well, but we are getting the old stuff off one layer at a time. I too0k my camera, and all 8 batteries were dead. Grrrr....

Brakeshoe Bob May 28, 2017

Get that sucker HOT!!! let the grills ash off..use a piece of wadded up aluminum foil to scrape off A good scrape after grilling and oil with a good olive oil or something that doesn't get rancid.. helps..

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.