For Us All in Everyday Ramblings

  • May 25, 2017, 11:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yeah yeah I know this is kind of blurry and a bit of a mess but I love these dark orange brownish black irises and it is hard to get a decent shot based on where they are located on the hill across from my place.

The sun came back out and all I want to do is wander around with my headphones on and listen to books and podcasts and take pictures.

Today I had my post op appointment and got the majority of my stitches out. My Periodontist is very happy with the healing and that is good news. We have a tentative date for the last big surgery in mid-August. I’ll get that confirmed in July when I get the rest of the stitches out.

I am so happy to have a date to work with now. There will be a number of appointments after that but no more surgery!

For anyone who has been in an accident or taken a bad fall you know that the worst day isn’t the day after, it is two or three days after.

Yesterday was a bit rough.

Saint Joe (who I thought was suffering from massive allergies after his trip to Southern California) had bronchitis and strep throat! Eek. I spent two days last week back to back in a confined space with someone with strep throat. He finally went to the doctor on Tuesday and I suggested he work from home yesterday while he acclimated to the powerful antibiotics they gave him. I had just wrapped up a 10-day course of antibiotics for my surgery so I think that saved me.

What was cool about this was after we agreed on this, Nimrod my boss texted me and said I could stay home too.

So I was able to nurse my sore shoulder and knee at home all day in the evening I taught hands and wrists and my students were just fine about a class where we stayed completely off our knees.

I am so much better today.

If I had it all to do over again (and I certainly hope that is not for a long long time) I would ice my knee as soon as I got home. It just didn’t occur to me as I was pretty shaken up. I am using arnica gel and that has helped keep the bruising to a minimum. Fingers crossed I didn’t do any lasting damage to my shoulder; it is a lot better so I think I will be okay.

I am lucky but if I wasn’t already motivated to keep up with my yoga practice I sure am now.

Now I need to turn my focus to some sort of meal planning. Yesterday morning I took a break and cleaned out my refrigerator. I was ruthless and I found some things in there that…well, shouldn’t have been. I am up a whopping 11 lbs. since I got my Fitbit a little more than 2 years ago.

Granted I was being super active then and that is probably the slimmest I will ever be as long as I am healthy. And you know, hurumph, there has been a little dental work in there… cutting myself some slack might be a good idea.

I did get some new running shoes that are supposed to be the best for people with bunions yesterday. I can’t wait to try them out.

There was this freak all day power outage in our downtown area a couple of days ago having to do with a fire in a switching station or something. The church had to cancel all their activities and the Art Museum was closed. It affected my meeting with the people at the church but they tell me they do want to put my class on the summer schedule.

So I meet with them mid week next week. That is what I needed to know to finally start my marketing push.

Is it just me or does it seem like without clearing understanding what we were doing, we the people elected a majority of truly heartless people to make decisions for us?

Heartless people that live in a bubble and mostly have no idea what day to day life is going to be like if all their policies are put in place, and a few who must know that many many people will suffer and die because of those policies.

It boggles the mind.

And makes my heart hurt.
For us all.


Last updated May 26, 2017


Deleted user May 26, 2017

I agree with you . We have elected a lot of heartless people .
Beautiful Iris !

Deleted user May 26, 2017

Those colours are just amazing.

Lyn May 26, 2017

Love your picture and the iris colors.

Abundant good health wishes.

I so agree with you about heartless people. May we all have learned a lesson. 💔

woman in the moon May 26, 2017

I still have a hard time believing what's happening politically.
So sorry about your fall.
The iris photo is beautiful.

Zipster May 26, 2017

i think what frightens me is that so many of those who voted for him still support him despite the ongoing mess. When I saw him on TV shoving others aside so he could be in front and preening, I just felt sick to my stomach...the Ugly American has become president. Your photo of the irises is a bit of respite.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.