One week in in In the Kingdom of Suzu

  • May 22, 2017, 6:52 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We have enjoyed a very relaxing first week on Barbuda. Wi-if has been a bit spotty at times plus I am too relaxed to do any writing and noting altho I have read favs and did some noting but mostly I am just too relaxed.

So far I have read 6 books(one I had started at home and finished here). Th donkeys are still here, unfortunately a couple of stray dogs are also around. They are friendly and one has a collar so perhaps they have wandered away from their home in the village.

Before we came, the island had a lot of rain so the no see-us, gnats and mosquitoes are pretty bad. Poor Jeff, he is a magnet for them and no matter what he puts on, he is attacked.

We had a very nice surprise when we arrived as we got to meet our landlady’s husband. We were always teasing her that she had an invisible husband as he always had just left the island or was coming right after we left. Her husband had been on Barbuda since march and was supposed to go home a couple of days before we got here but he changed his plans so that we could finally meet. He is a very nice man and we were very glad to meet him. Our landlady is a barbudian who married a canadian and raised a family in Toronto. When the economy went bad a few years ago, they decided to build the cottages and eventually they will both live here.

Pretty much sums up what has been our week, planning an excursion to another beach sometime this week, we are on the Caribbean side so are planning a trip to the Atlantic side, the difference is amazing and shelling is always an adventure.

Enjoy your week, I know I will!


Deleted user May 22, 2017

Tell me, what are the differences between the Caribbean side and the Atlantic side? I am most curious. So sorry to learn about the mosquitos and gnats. They aren't at the beach are they? When I was in Hawaii, I didn't see any mosquitos or gnats near the ocean but they were definitely in the rain forest! Like Jeff, I was bit quite a bit by mosquitos and it was a concern for me because of dengue fever.

QueenSuzu Deleted user ⋅ May 22, 2017

The Caribbean side is much calmer, the Atlantic is rough.

Deleted user QueenSuzu ⋅ May 22, 2017

The water isn't clear on the Atlantic side or is it? Also, is the water colder on the Atlantic side?

QueenSuzu Deleted user ⋅ May 23, 2017

it was pretty rough so I didn't go in. We went to another part of the island where the two merge and that was pretty neat to see, you can see pretty clearly where they come together.

Deleted user QueenSuzu ⋅ May 23, 2017

Was the water clear on the Atlantic side though? Does it look like the Caribbean side? Cool about being able to see where the Caribbean and Atlantic merge!

QueenSuzu Deleted user ⋅ May 24, 2017

It was clear but colder and as I said much rougher. The Caribbean is like a big bathtub, the water is so warm and clear. It can get a little rough at times but not like the Atlantic. I hope to see the pacific one day.

Deleted user QueenSuzu ⋅ May 24, 2017

If the water weren't rough, I think I would like swimming on the Atlantic side versus the Caribbean side. I like cold water, especially when it's hot outside. When I went swimming in Hawaii - the water was not warm but it was not extremely cold either. It was perfect ~ very refreshing. But in the afternoon, we could no longer swim because the water became too rough. Where I live, the ocean water is not clear (except for the areas where it laps onto shore) and really, even though some do, it's not safe to swim. Wading, yes. Swimming, no. The waves are too big, the water too rough, and there are undercurrents but boy oh boy - is it ever beautiful!

ConnieK May 22, 2017

It sounds glorious. Enjoy!

Deleted user May 22, 2017

I need a beach !! :-) Enjoy !!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.