It's a shame, it's a pity in new york city well, well, well in Normal entries

  • May 21, 2017, 4:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

You know, it’s weird. Sure ya do. I was watching something that wasn’t very good and my mind was wondering to that old saw about going back in time and killing Hitler. I tried remembering the last time I had that discussion, I was a teenager. And though I likely thought it at the time, I didn’t say anything; it’s not that easy to kill someone, doesn’t matter who it is. Ok, physically it’s pretty easy ; you stand really close and squeeze the trigger of a loaded gun until he stops breathing. Mentally, not so much. None of the teenagers I talked to when I was their peer had killed anyone. I hit sixteen one year after the final withdrawl of american troops from Vietnam. I was a dyed in the wool pacifist, still am, though the dye has faded some.

I followed this link to a meme, Robert Saplosky lecturing on human nature and he opens with his own very violent fantasy of killing Hitler. I’m not sure where he was going, I stopped to write down the odd coincidence, and, honestly, I’ve never heard a grown up speculate on it. I don’t think I’ve ever heard a grown up speculate on the chicken and the egg before either (what I was watching was so bad that my thoughts followed dead hitler down the rabbit hole). Assuming the chicken was a genetic adaptation (though how being a chicken is evolutionary advantageous is beyond me, a bird that can’t fly or protect itself very well), then the egg came first and a weird ass version of the predecessor was born. The chicken genes were so dominant that even when a weird ass predecessor rooster fucked that chicken, the new mutation was so dominant that all her chicks were chickens. Yeah, the show was really awful. If you remember what it was, don’t watch it.

I am traveling through time right now. I’ve almost travelled five minutes since I sat to type. There are fascists and fucktards potentially more dangerous than Hitler and with better weapons and the same nationalist drive. Not only haven’t I killed any of them, not that I’ll admit to in public, I haven’t thought about or fantasized about killing any of them. I’m not saying that makes me a good person, in fact I think I’m a fairly average person and for us fairly average people good might be too good of an adjective. A silly but true for instance; if I traveled back in time and saw Hitler accidently drop his wallet and nobody noticed, I would totally grab his wallet. If Eva Braun came on to me while Hitler was off fucking with Poland, I’d probably sleep with her. If Hitler and I got into a fist fight I’d go for the eyes and the nuts. And it wouldn’t have to be Hitler. I mean, I might not, but those are all in my repartee, not murder. It depends on how I’m feeling. I don’t fantasize about any of that, especially the fist fight.

Shit. I got busy doing nothing in particular and it’s now seven hours in the future. That’s about all I can track on that subject. I used to think in terms of entire pieces; entries, flashes, short stories, novels, letters to home, letters to the editor, that sort of thing. I have no technical skill, but I had a fine imagination. I’m sure I still have it just difficult to access it, or, rather, I can’t access it in the same way I used to. I haven’t written anything I would want to read all year. Maybe that’s not 100 percent true, but the one or two pieces are unfinished and rough. Rough is standard Haredawg, unfinished is not. I’m compulsive and reckless, no, not that kind of compulsive and reckless, the other kind.

Lost that track too. A word on my diet. I don’t think I went two days in a row following it, but, curiously, it wasn’t from cravings or anything, more like too lazy to cook. But I have an opinion. I know a lot of you have struggled through various diets. I lost ten pounds in three months without changing my diet for longer than three days. It’s the exercise and I don’t do much but I actually do something. I’m not going to go all infomercial on you, I wasn’t trying hard to lose weight, just trying to stay sharp. Hmmm, let’s try that again. I’m not going to go all infomercial on you and say “in just fourteen minutes a day … my easy, fun 14 minute workout …” and then make you listen to ten minutes anticipating some grand secret. I mostly just walk, stopped going to the gym in March. I don’t like going alone, the GF was out of sorts. Weight wise the gym probably added pounds, I always took the GF to a steak dinner afterwards. I haven’t got my bike off the rack. So the last few months it’s basically walking and getting my damn fitbit to shut the hell up. I eat like I always have; eat when I’m hungry and eat what I’m hungry for. To keep the fitbit happy it wants half an hour exercise. It doesn’t start counting until you’ve been at it ten minutes. Spending ten minutes three times a day walking won’t get you in the superbowl, but it’s a way of losing weight without changing diet. Granted I do more three ten minute increments, but therer were years in my life when I did much less and years when I did much more without trying. I don’t know, my metabolism is like my imagination; I know it’s still there I’m just have trouble accessing it in the way I’m used to.

Is there something wrong on prosebox? It’s seem to have gone awfully quiet.


Neogy Titwhistle May 21, 2017

Yeah,it seems to have quieted a bit. But I'm thinking late Spring early summer were always quiet times?

Nash May 23, 2017

I am not a pacifist and I have thought out the whole killing Hitler thing. I don't know what I would do. It is like going off to war, I think I would be brave in the face of the enemy but you really do not know until shots are fired and people start to die around you. I have not killed anyone but I have fantasized about it, no more often than the average soul I imagine. It usually involves bad drivers. I have never killed a human but I grew up adjacent to my grandfather's farm so I have killed many animals. It is not enjoyable, but it is a necessary act. I think I would approach killing Hitler in much the same way. Perhaps. There was a documentary years ago about a Cuban expat forced out when Castro took over. He was one of the few individuals who was close enough to Castro to kill him and armed to do it but did not have the courage. His story was widely known around the Cuban community in Florida and he was ostracized due to his lack of courage. I say that not as some endorsement or condemnation of Castro but to point out that murder is hard unless passion is upon you. Such is the reason premeditated killing is punished more severely than its more passionate version.

haredawg drools Nash ⋅ May 23, 2017

Yes, of course. I wouldn't have killed castro, I would have probably disarmed the guy who tried to. I also don't think killing castro would have changed anything. Killing hitler, it would depend when you did it, I guess. Though the social climate in cuba in 59 and in Germany in 1919 sort of made the wom,b fertile for communism and fascism, respectively. One would have better luck changhing hiostory by killing Keizer Wilhelm, without him and his cousin there wouldn't have been a war to break the German spirit and economy, a Geneva convention, or, you know, a WWI, rank foolishness and hubris. And Castro ... would one kill Marx? Lenin? The son of a bitch that needing killing, Stalin? Between the four of them the only real criminal was Stalin. I'm not the pacifist that wouldn't up and kill a motherfucker, but the evidence would have to be more immediate and deliberate than the bloody course of bloody human history. I met some evil motherfuckers, fed em, clothed em, and taught them independent living skills despite their spite and anti-social attitude towards me. If one of them moved against my kids I would have stabbed them in eye with a spoon. None of those guys were smart enough to be a Castro or Hitler, but they were all smart enough to be son of sam in the bloody future.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.