I'm still around in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • May 21, 2017, 12:03 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am really lacking on getting here. My excuse is just crazy busy. It seems there is something I have to do, need to do, or something every day. I use my Google Calendar and the wall calendar all the time now. Geeze.
Everyone is doing ok. Dad has adjusted pretty much and is now doing exercising each day. All other family members are doing ok and school is almost over for the year. Graduation for the HS kids was last night but school isn’t officially over until next week.

Survived the torrents of rain and flooding this month. Highest flood levels here, ever. Set a record. The river actually blocked off both sides out for a couple of days and it has never gotten that high. Took out a low water bridges, pavement from the interstate, and caused a lot of damage in this area and throughout Missouri and Arkansas. Part of our fences are gone, part of the hay got flooded and the high waters changed the landscape along the river.

Had 3 dead trees cut down and with the high winds we received this week it was just in time. Yesterday the septic line stopped up and the early load of J’s clothes was in the middle of the empting out the rinse water and I heard the strangest sound. When I investigated water had back up at both ends of the house. Called a plumber, but the clean outs were filled so he checked inside the septic tank. I then called the septic tank pumper outer who couldn’t come until after 7 but he did. The problem wasn’t the septic tank the line from the house to the tank was stopped up. He CLIMBED Down into the tank and broke the calcium and water gushed as he hopped up on the ladder to climb out of the stink hole. I was so happy to have things flowing again. I came back to the house and flushed all the stools to make sure. They flushed and I was so relieved and so was J. He thanked the guy as he’d been waiting all day for it to get fixed. For some unknown reason he wouldn’t eat anything until it was fixed.

It was a nasty mess to clean up but you must and I did several loads of laundry today. Thankfully even though water was in the floors at both ends of the house it didn’t get any of the carpet wet.

I have my tubs and garden spots planted. Not as much stuff this year in flowers. I didn’t start any seeds inside this year. Just didn’t have time. Isn’t that crazy?

So with everything going on this month my finances have been depleted. I hope the months to follow aren’t as expensive as this one has been.

Take care and God Bless


GypsyWynd May 21, 2017

Sorry about your floods and septic troubles. Hope things settle down for you.

crystal butterfly May 21, 2017

Glad you got the septic tank fixed. And hopefully the rains slow down.

aunty EM May 21, 2017

Oh, dear!!! Glad you were able to get it fixed.

ConnieK May 21, 2017

Glad to see you back and glad the crisis is over!

Deleted user May 23, 2017

Gosh, what a lot of work!

Bird of Paradise June 24, 2017

My husband's life is way fuller since he retired... all of which is doing some sort of Ministry. He loves it!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.