THE READING LIST in Postcards 4

  • May 20, 2017, 4:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

How do you compile the books you decide to read?

Yes, some come from the store, but others are purchased, sent to me, or are library books. I just ordered the new Dana Stabenow today. They sit next to my fat chair downstairs or live in piles upstairs near my side of the bed just waiting for my hand to reach for them.

How do I choose what book to reach for….fabrics and styles lead to books on quilting or fashion. I used to sew clothes, boy I wasn’t very good, but now I just quilt. I’m not very good at that either. But I am enthusiastic. Why did I choose the recently read book on MRS O? She wowed the president watchers, and she bought American. Beast of all, she changed how American women shopped. What designers did she choose and why…those questions interested me as a fabric person and as an artist.

Then too, I have always had a fascination about the White House building, its staff, and its many changes. After my long delayed visit to Washington DC, I’ll read about anything to do with the city and buildings. Not usually politics though. The White House Museum is a favorite site. Photos and illustrations of each room since the beginning through the Obama’s.

If a book leaps off the shelves at the store into my lap, It is often a mystery. Books on books…yes, mam, I will read those no matter what. Then again, I picked up a nicely illustrated paperback on Hemi’s this week for George. I found a book on English WWII Air Force sites for Carol. If I didn’t try and get rid of two or three books a week, I would sink into the sea weighted down by my books.

What do I save to reread? Downstairs are the art, architecture, fashion and fabric, quilting, poetry, science fiction, and two authors of old fashioned fiction: DE Stevenson and Elizabeth Cadell. After the latest hand surgery, they were just what I needed. In front of my drawing board are several shelves of ship books, and to my left, in grandma’s old bookcase, live my cookbooks. Yes, I use them. Upstairs are the mysteries worth rereading. Several shelves on WWII, and several more shelves on the White House.

What do you read, and what do you save to reread? I’m just wondering.



LINKS:
Mrs O, Fashion Democracy
mrs-o.org
Project Runway
White House Museum
Elizabeth Cadell
DE Stevenson


GypsyWynd May 20, 2017

I'm partial to fiction, particularly historical fiction and sci-fi/fantasy (more of the latter, rather than hsrdcore science-y fiction).
I don't reread many books, but there are a few I've read more than once. It has to be something that really moved me.

NorthernSeeker May 20, 2017

I reread two books this year because of my book club but I don't usually tend to reread them. There are just so many books to read in the world, right? I might reread the Rome series by Colleen McCullough...I've loved the details, the politics, the battles...all so interesting.

Deleted user May 21, 2017

I am an obsessive reader and book collector . I love science fiction and fantasy . I have a huge collection of them. I also have an extensive collection of gardening books and books about animals. I collect certain authors ; Pearl S. Buck, Taylor Caldwell, Wilbur Smith, Alice Hoffman...too many to list really .
I love Southern chick lit novels , English novels, historical novels,some mystery and horror. I like certain self help books and I even have a shelf of my favorite cookbooks ; I don't use them often enough. :-)
I feel rich when I look at my books although I am anything but ..I always keep about a hundred books on hand that I have not read yet but I want to.
Where do I get my books ? At Good Will or occasionally I order from Amazon or go to Barnes and Nobles. When I go to AZ I raid my Dad's discard pile :-)

MageB Deleted user ⋅ May 21, 2017

Try Cadell and Stevenson...both English writers. I love them. And order from ABE Books and Alibris Books online. :)

Deleted user MageB ⋅ May 21, 2017

Thanks! I wil check them out !

aunty EM May 21, 2017

The little library right here in my building is full of mostly mysteries:; Baldacci, Patterson, etc. So that's what I mostly read these days. Not much room in my apartment so I only have one small bookcase which is full of photo albums, family history collections and a couple of reference books... My outside bridge group pass books around... many of them are romances. I do have electronic readers that I haven't been using lately--don't know why. I like to read fiction that is set in places I know: I grew up in Wyoming and love to read CJ Box and Craig Johnson, for example. The few cookbooks I own are (sadly) used only occasionally.

MageB aunty EM ⋅ May 21, 2017

Yes, I like those two writers too. I love the older Jance's too.

gattaca May 21, 2017

I read totally off the cuff. If something grabs me I read it right away. I've amassed a motley collection because of this haphazard reading style, from Tolkien to Dante to Lynn Pan and all things Malaysian.

Marg May 23, 2017

I seem to graduate towards non-fiction biography before anything else and often pick up titles faves have read on here if it sounds like something I'd like. The rest come from a good old-fashioned browse in the library!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.