Not Bad for a Princess in Everyday Ramblings

  • May 11, 2017, 9:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Our last beautiful spring day before the rains, the gloom and cool temperatures return. I want to savor it.

That was yesterday. I did savor it. Now it is cool and overcast and damp. Everybody was talking about it when I was out and about. Including all the students who had been evacuated from one of the newer student housing buildings on the Portland State campus that I walked through on my way to class.

There was a huge presence of fire and rescue workers but everyone seemed pretty relaxed.

I am a bit on edge because I am having more dental surgery this week and have been trying to prepare for it and the news is disturbing in general with this sense of crisis and inexplicability.

My personal princess persona has been on full display. On Monday I called the dental school and asked if I could have my prescriptions called in early so I don’t need to pick them up afterwards. I did that once and it was awful waiting for them to be filled with an ice pack on my face and a waiting area full of folks seriously ill.

That is my internal princess present and accounted for. This is the pharmacy at the big outpatient center my employer runs near here and there are a lot of very very sick people who cycle through there.

When I am not sick or full of anesthetic or stiches I don’t mind it so much, I marvel at the amazing courage and determination so many of us face when our body feels like it is betraying us.

Anyway, on Tuesday when I went to my last Physical Therapy appointment (I graduated, yeah!) I checked and of course there were no prescriptions.

My whole week, everything I have planned has been predicated on having my procedure today and yesterday when I got a text confirming the appointment for tomorrow I, umm, metaphorically blew a gasket.

Princess time again.

So I went for a calming walk around the building I was in and then called the practice manager and they juggled the schedule around and got me in today after all. I will have to wait part way through the procedure while he sees a post op patient and I am sure he will be late to start the procedure because he is thorough and takes the time he needs for things, I have a book.

And the pharmacy contacted me yesterday afternoon that my prescriptions are ready. I’ll pick them up on my way to the appointment, no waiting.

If you read my last post you might note that I was speaking about racism and bias and entitlement and privilege and that I have never had an African American or black yoga student.

Yesterday two minutes before class time a lovely young black woman came into the studio and unrolled her mat!

I am so glad the Universe appears to have a sense of humor.

Otherwise I would be singing the theme to The Twilight Zone. I do hope she comes back. She said she was so relaxed afterwards she didn’t want to move. Sweet.

Not bad, for a princess, eh?


Last updated May 11, 2017


woman in the moon May 11, 2017

So happy about your new student and I really really really hope she comes back. I truly believe we need more variety in our lives, more openness, more opportunities to know and meet and spend time with people who are different from ourselves. Good for you.
Hope the dentistry turns out ok and that you get your prescriptions on time.

Lyn May 11, 2017

👸 you are a great princess, keep up the good work.

Cool about the new student.

Zipster May 11, 2017

Oh your royal highness, I am crossing all appendages that your upcoming procedure goes well and that you are thus freed from such happenings forever more. Your good heart has welcomed all and thus all appear.

Deleted user May 11, 2017

Good luck with the new procedure, you are so brave.

Deleted user May 13, 2017

It's wonderful to be a princess :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.