The weekend in Normal entries

  • May 9, 2017, 9:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I spent the weekend near Indianapolis. My little sister married her husband. Heh. They were married late last year, but this was the wedding for friends and family. I took my mom and GF in my car, brother and his wife flew up, his kid, son in law and grandson flew from LA, and it was all very nice. Um, except I had something weird happen, ok, not for the first time, but the first time in public. Bright jagged lines in my left eye for over a half an hour.
An optometrist a few years ago said it was migraines, but I neither described the problem nor did he offer a solution. They use lay terms that I assume are meaningful to people who have them — for instance, what the hell is a floater and why do they always ask? I mean ever since I was a kid if I get exhausted I have these swirly little things like amoebas in my vision, but not when I close my eyes and only when I’m exhausted (which used to take longer but, the upside, I haven’t had them in a long time, takes at least 36 hours with no sleep). Even if those are floaters the quick cure is sleep. I think they aren’t. I assume people have dark spots in their vision that follow their eyes and are always there. I described the p[roblem as sometimes my eye pulses to the beat of my heart, I didn’t explain the pulse was red.
The wedding and attendant things and family reunion was beautiful and heart warming and the venue made mid Indiana look like paradise. The GF and I got along really well on the first day and night, pretty dang well on the second day and night, and got into a very gentle argument the following morning — while that was happening my mom fell in the hotel bathroom. She’s a bit tender today. The ride home was quiet.
I could describe the argument, gentle argument, but I don’t entirely understand it, for the most part she was absolutely right, then it went a bit sideways and I’m unclear whether I have a GF or not. I’m also not entirely sure why I seem to feel I need one. Hmmm, in a general and long term sense. Since around age thirteen the only times I didn’t have a GF was when I had a wife. I’m defining GF as an intimate partner, if we broaden the definition to a girl who is a friend, I’ve always had plenty, even when they had cooties and I thought “Where is a pig tail dunking ink well when you need one?” It’s not really that I like girls/women better than boys/men (the back slash is to imply the better part of six decades, though, as a kid I had some adult female friends, um, and a gf or two, I never had a relationship the other direction, well, second wife was seven years younger but was thirty when I met her).
You would think that by now I’d understand women. I don’t. I don’t really understand men but it matters less to me, part of the joy of hanging out with the boys is the lying, punching, razzing and not needing to explain it. As you grown men know, it’s much harder making and keeping close friends as you age. Hmmmm, I mean I couldn’t go knock on a couple of doors and get a game of baseball or even pickle together.
The bride and groom were damn near glowing. My little sisters first marriage was damn near as a bad a trainwreck as the rest of us, or worse, much worse, because, you know, she’s my little sister. This guy is a much better man. Maybe not nicer but certainly not mean. The first one oozed huckleberry hound charm, but was an asshole and abusive even when he was locked up.

I’m not sure I’ve ever told my primary doc about the vision or pulse, mostly because I do not want to see the neurologist at MSU. My mom speaks poorly of him (I think him), insists there is just the one, and did nothing for my dad and just took up my moms time (she didn’t need one). Unless I can find a good one, I’m not going to ask for a referral, and, I’m pretty sure they don’t do much about migraines and might be prone to costly and tedious diagnostic tests to justify the doing of nothing.

Hmmm, I thought perhaps typing shit out might have led me somewhere. No.

So, some things considered it was a lovely wedding/family reunion. All things considered my entire future might have changed.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.