COSTUMINGS in Postcards 4

  • May 8, 2017, 11:21 a.m.
  • |
  • Public


Marvelously creative cut work armor.

George said earlier that he hadn’t decided what he would wear at Comic Con this year. He tells me now that he has bought a Star Trek T-shirt to wear on Costume day. I wanted to go medievally dressed, but my hands wouldn’t let me run fabrics through the machine. Maybe next year.

I ran through 2013’s pictures to find a middle-ages style dress I had seen flash by me. Months ago flashing. There it was…only half an hour searching. I can’t seem to find a pattern, but there will be one out there. It’s a style that will hide many imperfections, and I can design it with built in pockets. Perhaps with an over-dress and a rope belt.


  • Himself: Saturday: Ate eggs out, museum docenting, and an evening with friends. Sunday Took Poolie a giant plain pretzel, and goofed off while it rained. Meeting with him at the front table.
  • Herself: I followed G around, and when home read while the skies opened up.
  • Reading: Still into Katherine Graham’s “Washington.” Another Katherine from my old writing class has had her book published. It’s really well done, and you can find it on Amazon: “Lessons in Disguise.”
  • Gratitude’s: That I’ve found a vitamin I can sort of take.

Flame is Love May 08, 2017

I asked my SCA mom about patterns. Hope this helps. Long email cut and pasted:

Look for Simplicity etc. period Chemise/Underclothes.

True designs would be a Houplande patterns from period pattern companies. These run $ 30 apiece. The easiest and I use it often is google “rectangular construction” or “T-shirt construction” It is easiest. If you use one of these last ones for right opening, you can fold the front piece in half and trace the opening by laying a favorite shirt down on it, but remember to cut a little small and add a hem there or facing.

Let her know when you have a large opening leave enough material from the end of the shoulder to the front opening or the weight of the material will pull the sleeves from your shoulders. The dress you looked at appears to be in linen or light weight wool. Both are cool for summer wear. FabricStore.com has lots of color, great prices and Joann’s has good linens but not a huge variety of colors. Cotton linen mixes are good also but tend to be warmer (cotton doesn’t breath if you’re in heat).

GypsyWynd Flame is Love ⋅ May 08, 2017

Funny you say that, cause I find cotton to be the most comfortable fabric to wear in FL's heat and humidity.

MageB GypsyWynd ⋅ May 08, 2017

Thanks for this. Yes, cotton.

GypsyWynd May 08, 2017

That is some gorgeous armor!
I love that dress. It's something I would wear every day.

MageB May 08, 2017

I deleted a note by accident. Thank you. Yes, SCA, and yes, I will go a looking.

aunty EM May 09, 2017

Love the dress...

Deleted user May 09, 2017

That will be a great costume !

Hillbilly Princess May 09, 2017

NorthernSeeker May 11, 2017

Isn't it an accomplishment to have a book published? I can't even imagine it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.