MAY GREY in Postcards 4

  • May 6, 2017, 12:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public


Point Loma.

Yesterday the fogs started rolling in over the spine of Point Loma. Sometimes it comes like a wall of moisture, yesterday it crept in little bursts of white. Here along the coast, we call it May Grey and June Gloom. Little May Grey when I was a child, but I remember June Gloom.

The UCSD Weather folks say that in 2011 we had 21 grey and gloomy days. In 2014 there were only 15 days. Even if it is only nine days of grey, I must tell you that it seems endless. Grey skies, dull colors, and dim everything.

I note that there seem to be fewer Gloomy days since the climate began warming. I am encouraged by these fewer days of dim light tho frightened by the implications. I bought a tube of 100% sun cream to cover my chemo and will be out and about as much as I can. If you see a lady in White Face, you will know it’s me.


  • Himself: Gaming with Fallout 4 this morning. Museum, dinner, and who knows what.
  • Herself: Coffee, leg stuff, blog, Poolie potassium, breakfast, hand stuff, and read.
  • Reading: K Graham’s “Washinton.”
  • 3 Things Done Well Yesterday:Wrote, had desert with G, meeting.
  • Gratitude’s: That life is treating me so kindly today.

Last updated May 06, 2017


Hillbilly Princess May 06, 2017

Zipster May 06, 2017

Did you get much rain? We got dribs and drabs, but it sure is gray and cold here.

NorthernSeeker May 07, 2017

I guess the fog means that the air masses in the area are pretty calm and still or it would blow away. Fog in Vancouver is usually a short term proposition.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.