The girl in These titles mean nothing.

  • May 6, 2017, 5 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text

The vet was out to see a cow yesterday and we sought free advice on Gracie’s aging and well used joints. He said we could give her an aspirin on days she seemed a little stiff. He said she was a big enough dog that she could have two.

She will be nine years old this fall. She had sore back foot for a while. It would get better and then she would overuse it - Gracie is not a dog for moderation - and would be limping again. It’s pretty much all better now. But getting up from full rest is sometimes an effort.

Gracie is a great dog. I was going to say she was the greatest dog we’ve ever had but then I’m remembering Stinky and the Husky and short-lived Carl, the Big Woof and even other minor players in the lives of people and dogs. They are all great.

But Gracie is our current dog and she truly is great.

==============================

I’m reading a Penguin biography of [James Joyce written by Edna O’Brien].(http://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/310070/james-joyce-by-edna-obrien/9780143119937/). It’s a little book, short, easy to read. Makes you wonder how much of your soul (or your normal life) you’d give up to be a genius. I guess that’s an idle concern. Genius is not conferred that easily. But still like van Gogh, ‘he suffered for his art’. Of course he made other people suffer too. As we all do. Just the scale is different.

*Vincent
Don McLean
Starry
Starry night
Paint your palette blue and grey

Look out on a summer’s day
With eyes that know the
Darkness in my soul.
Shadows on the hills
Sketch the trees and the daffodils

Catch the breeze and the winter chills

In colors on the snowy linen land.
And now I understand what you tried to say to me

How you suffered for your sanity
How you tried to set them free.
They would not listen
They did not know how

Perhaps they’ll listen now.

Starry
Starry night
Flaming flo’rs that brightly blaze

Swirling clouds in violet haze reflect in
Vincent’s eyes of China blue.
Colors changing hue
Morning fields of amber grain

Weathered faces lined in pain
Are soothed beneath the artist’s
Loving hand.
And now I understand what you tried to say to me

How you suffered for your sanity
How you tried to set them free.
Perhaps they’ll listen now.

For they could not love you
But still your love was true

And when no hope was left in sight on that starry
Starry night.
You took your life
As lovers often do;
But I could have told you
Vincent
This world was never
Meant for one
As beautiful as you.

Starry
Starry night
Portraits hung in empty halls

Frameless heads on nameless walls
With eyes
That watch the world and can’t forget.
Like the stranger that you’ve met

The ragged men in ragged clothes

The silver thorn of bloody rose
Lie crushed and broken
On the virgin snow.
And now I think I know what you tried to say to me

How you suffered for your sanity

How you tried to set them free.
They would not listen
They’re not
List’ning still
Perhaps they never will.
*

Also reading bits and pieces of The Great Fire by Shirley Hazzard. Great book. The east and west after WWII. What do my Aussies think of her? Of her picture of Australia and New Zealand?

It’s Saturday. We are working from five till eleven.

Then we go to town to pick up the ‘new’ tractor. It’s having something done to its steering. Not related to tilt, I’m pretty sure.

I need to get some groceries. I’m looking for ideas. New stuff. Easy stuff. Stuff we will and can eat. Suggestions?

NOte: came back and looked at the entry. Some interesting but unintentional formatting. Oh well.


Last updated May 06, 2017


gattaca May 06, 2017

We love our dogs, don't we?
Gracie is a member of the family. That photo captures her happy spirit perfectly!

NorthernSeeker May 06, 2017

Glucosamine seems to help a lot of pets with arthritis. I'm sorry to hear about Gracie's aches and pains. She certainly throws herself into her work around the farm...there's no holding her back.

Deleted user May 06, 2017

I love Gracie's photo!

Deleted user May 07, 2017

It's awful when our pups get old. We were giving Mabel Glucosamine. Fish oil, and MSM . It did seem to help . On a really bad day I gave her a baby aspirin too . Lizzy never seemed to have any joint problems ; her heart just gave out . I am sure she was a breeder from a puppy mill before she was rescued , but she was confined and neglected there too long :-( Hoong Gracie keeps chugging away a long time yet . Mabel was a very big dog and she lived until she was 16 . I think Lizzy was only 12. No vet could really tell how old she was except to say she was elderly .
Cooking :-( Definitely not my talent but I like easy, easy things . Roast , chili, goulash , spaghetti , vegetable soup, potato soup, baked chicken with Italian dressing on it , breaded baked tilapia , hamburgers , and Frank makes a great chicken curry with rotisserie chicken. Pizza with lots of vegetables. Steak broiled or grilled. Anti pasto salad with salami , prosciutto , and all kinds of vegetables. Occasinally tacos or fajitas, chef salads too with meats and hard boiled eggs . I love potatoes almost any way . I love sushi too but I buy that out as I do Thai food ( my favorite ).

Deleted user May 07, 2017

Vincent was truly an inspired song. They captured Van Gogh's essence very well I thought .

Serin May 09, 2017

She is a good dog.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.