Sunset if I had to guess in These titles mean nothing.

  • May 2, 2017, 9:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text

Preview function wasn’t working so I uploaded this pic with no idea what it was. It’s Jim’s as are a lot of the pics I post anymore because I just don’t care enough to take pictures. Sorta sad but time moves on I guess. We lose and we gain. We do not stay the same.

This will be my third entry here in as many days. It’s a long time since I’ve written any entries in a string like that. I am not who I used to be. I don’t care as much. I have no reason to expose myself to the world.

These are depressing sentiments. I’m sorry. I’d rather bubble and thrill. Maybe when the weather gets better. I’ll see if I still have a sunny side to turn up.

I took my plants outside a couple weeks ago. It was a very rare warm springlike day and I felt a desire to DO SOMETHING. I got the geraniums and begonia and coleus outside and I even jig saw puzzled the round metal mesh table through the door to the deck. I arranged them to some degree and sat with them for a bit finishing a sudoku. Life was good and hopeful.

Then of course the weather changed. The wind blew and knocked the lighter ones over. The rain came which in some ways was good because I didn’t need to water them. But in other ways it was bad because it was cold rain that kept coming. We had a few frosty mornings.
one
The coleus just plain died first. I saw signs of life among the geraniums and begonias and felt vaguely hopeful. Then less so. Lately I’ve just pretended they don’t exist. Like maybe they went on a cruise and will return mid-May. And who knows? Maybe they will. They are tough plants. I’ve had them forever. They put up with a lot from me.

Meanwhile the corner of the nondescript room where they wintered has been swept and looks almost spacious. So there is that.


New subject. I’m losing a little weight. The no sugar, no wheat, no soda regime has me fitting much more comfortably into my pants. I’m beginning to wonder if I can tempt fate with just one narrow slice of T-Bock’s cheesecake for my June birthday.

You know me. I’m all or nothing. And the first step is the one that’s followed by a bunch of other ones, especially when it’s in the wrong direction. Slippery slope ring a bell?

But we will see. Life is like that. One day follows the next. We get better. We get worse. Once in a while we make a u-turn. Or even a full 360. We blink and it’s over.


Just Annie May 02, 2017

I'm really bad at moderation, too. I can give it up or have it all the time, but don't ask me to have just a little, sometimes.

A very lovely photo.

NorthernSeeker May 02, 2017

Congrats on losing the weight...bet it feels really great. Sorry to hear about your plants. In our town you have to wait until the first week in June to put things outside.
In Vancouver people have a lot of latitude. You'd have a master garden in Vancouver.

Deleted user May 03, 2017

You do sound sad. Sometimes, I am too.

WhatDreamsMayCome May 03, 2017

The 'blink' is so true.

noko May 03, 2017

Your time on the deck sounds so hopeful and content. Everyone here is struggling with mood issues because of the change in the weather... Well... everyone over 30. :)

Deleted user May 04, 2017

I have put some plants outside too and I don't think they are doing very well. Nothing obviously dead but they look the worse for wear :-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.