First of May in These titles mean nothing.

  • May 1, 2017, 4:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text

Gracie’s in the picture too. Let me know if you see her.

We were out on the Reno dike yesterday. Cold, windy, the sky was gray and it was almost raining. We were the only people there - ours the only car in the little parking lot. We didn’t walk far, just to the end of the first spillway. But boy was it a magic place yesterday. The water was just up to the edge of the concrete, barely running over it in a few places. There were waves in the huge expanse to the north. It was wild and immense and beautiful. It was our ocean.

It was an unexpected stop and there were no pictures taken. Trust me though that it was a beautiful as it can be. Fresh greens below the dam, the land trees a million shades, and again the meeting of water and land. The water rushed through the opening from above to below on its way to the real ocean.

The Canadian railroad runs along the Minnesota and Iowa river banks. They are working on their tracks. Fresh gray granite ballast and an extension of a siding now make two tracks to cross to get to the river. Further up the river, up the railroad we saw equipment working yesterday.

But at Reno everything was quiet, calm. Except the rushing river.


gattaca May 01, 2017

I see Gracie. :-)

That calf looks like it's about to say "may I help you?"

Florentine May 01, 2017

It sounds beautiful. I love when I discover something wild and alive by chance.

NorthernSeeker May 01, 2017

Stellar photo of the cattle...and yes, I can see the gorgeous Gracie. That is a really beautiful little calf. I hope it is happy and healthy. I can imagine Reno Bottoms..I love moments like that. You don't always have to have a camera.

WhatDreamsMayCome May 01, 2017

Looks like Gracie is keeping all things under her watchful eye.

thesunnyabyss May 01, 2017

what a handsome calf,

noko May 01, 2017

Sounds like an unexpected gift, that beauty.

Deleted user May 02, 2017

I found Gracie :)

Serin May 02, 2017

I'm imagining what the water would smell like if I was standing in a place like you described on the dike. It makes me want to close my eyes. I see Gracie.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.