Outrage and Naps in Everyday Ramblings

  • April 30, 2017, 3:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This blooming tree is so pretty when the light hits it.

Today we have some intense glare but I am wearing sunblock anyway. The five days without rain are not going to materialize. We had rain last night but at least instead of four times our average rainfall we had just under twice our average in April.

I did not make it to the People’s Climate March yesterday and I feel so bad about that. I was too tired and I was honest about it to myself. I talked to Mrs. Sherlock about it during our Saturday morning walk with Frida. The first time in a month.

She was reminding me of all the things I do on a daily basis to minimize climate change (not having a car, not flying, recycling and conserving electricity) and I was thinking about all I could yet still do. In the end I made a small financial contribution to our amazing local organizers. It is a group of activist young women that are just awesome and inspire hope.

I made the contribution and then crawled into bed with the cats and spent the rest of the day napping and reading the 4th in the Fiona Griffiths mystery series by Harry Bingham that Four mentioned in a post about a visit to a mobile library on her way home from doctor appointments.

If it were teaching yoga, or preparing to teach I think I could manage the amount of overtime I worked in the last two weeks but because my day job is so problematic and I am not happy in it, the overtime is a drain, a drag on my vital energy and spirit.

I am grateful for it though because it does pay the bills including the big one for physical therapy. I have good insurance but I still am paying a net $75 per visit. And that doesn’t count the deductible. There is something wrong with this picture!

The general charge for each visit is $404.79. And I can barely get $10 per class for my “preventative” yoga class.

We need to fix this health care system. I am just saying.

Today I read about a bill in Congress called the “Hearing Protection Act”. You have got to be kidding. It deregulates gun silencers! Because… you know we need to worry about the hearing of people using their guns to defend themselves…

I am teaching a workshop in July called “How to Stay Calm in a World Gone Mad.” I need to practice what I preach.

Besides all the movement and breathing techniques I would say more than anything do something you love. Even with serious limitations we can help others and find something we enjoy that doesn’t harm anyone including ourselves.

Our whole church denomination is going through a crisis and we heard an earful this morning from a visiting female minister. It is about white privilege and a liberal faith. It is interesting because I witnessed an interaction coming into the building this morning that I took (in my judgmental way) to be a sign of upper class patronizing.

We have these guys that are authorized to sell this newspaper for folks that are struggling called “Street Roots” at our church doors on Sunday morning. Listening to this very well heeled older woman interact with the guy at the door made me very uncomfortable.

She was making an effort to learn his name and said she’d find him after the service and buy a paper. It wasn’t about him though; it was about what she could do for him. And imagine what it’s like for these guys (they are mostly guys) to be in a position like this.

Anyway, our senior minister is black and he is now off in Boston seeing what he can do to make things better for the denomination. 600 churches talked about this topic this morning…white supremacy.

Eek.

More moderate amounts of overtime in the week ahead. I hope to be able to recharge a bit and have a little fun.


Last updated May 01, 2017


Zipster April 30, 2017

I think this country is too fuel by fear right now for us to fix the healthcare system.

Deleted user April 30, 2017

I don't want to be a pessimist but until
The AMA , pharmaceutical companies and hospital association get some controls put on them , prices will never be fair and the insurance companies will be continuing to charge outrageous premiums while having big deductibles. They have gotten rich and they don't care if health care ( even if it's poor at best ) impoverishes the rest of us.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.