Hello! in At the foot of the hill

  • April 29, 2017, 9:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I guess I haven’t written an entry for awhile. Let’s see here....Guess I’ll start with now and go backwards…
I got up early this morning, earlier than usual. I had made it thru the night without getting up so when I awoke a little after five, it was time for the bathroom… and then I had to see how much snow had accumulated overnight. Maybe a little more than 2” on the deck rail, but a lot melted before it got colder. Then, gee, I might as well stay up. Got the coffee going, took my meds and resumed my battle with my computer which seems to be hiding files on me…aarrrggg!
Yesterday was interesting. Bob and I play pinochle with two women who are residents in our building on Friday afternoons. Both were in bad moods yesterday. The one (I’ll call her BB) was my partner. BB was grousing about the “house rules” that “Penny” had set up for us when we started playing about a year ago. BB also complained that she never knew what was going on with the score–Penny always keeps score–. Then, when I asked Penny to repeat what she bid because I hadn’t heard what she said, she (Penny) blew a gasket… BB took offense at the tone and, well, I guess we have Friday afternoons free now…
Thursday was unremarkable. I went with Bob to the grocery store. I usually let him do the shopping because I get closterphobic in the store. But I need to go myself about once a month so I can see what I want besides the basics that he gets.
Wednesday was special. Our granddaughters had surprised us with theater tickets at one of the fabulous venues in the Denver Center for the Performing Arts. We hadn’t been downtown on our own for years and were kind of nervous about driving down during rush hour. But with the help of the GPS on the car, we drove right to the parking garage, got a parking space a few steps from the elevator, picked up tickets the girls had ordered at the box office and found our seats with time to spare.
The show was the musical “The Secret Garden” which we had seen several years ago, but not at this level of theatre. Breathtakingly awesome!!!!
Going farther back is pretty boring so I’ll write about what’s on the table for today: Right now the snow is coming down thick enough that I can’t see much past the other side of the little lake. It’s supposed to be out of here around noon. I hope so because we are going to a concert tonight to see and hear our son Mike and his sidekick do their thing. I hope the weather doesn’t keep too many people away.


cardslinger April 29, 2017

The musical sounds wonderful. Glad you were treated and found the place so easily.
What do your son and his sidekick perform?

aunty EM cardslinger ⋅ April 29, 2017

Mostly they do Mike's own stuff, with a few standards thrown in here and there. The genre is "Americana" (sort of a cross between folk, rock and country/western) Mike plays guitar and sings lead. Nick plays electric guitar and sings back-up. He also has a 4-piece band which includes the two of them, a bass guitar and drums. If you are interested you can find him on the internet: www.rmichaelrhodes.com. Thanks for asking.

MageB May 01, 2017

It all sounds pretty darned good. Hope the concert tonight is as good as the Secret Garden. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.