The obvious titles are too obvious in Normal entries

  • April 24, 2017, 9:42 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, I had a very un-haredawg-like moment the other day. I went to a Medicinal Disperary for, among other things a topical and RSO capsules (Rick Simpson Oil, this guy had been using medical marijuana for chemo, he came up with an extraction process, and, too, he put the oil on some skin tags, cancerous, daily, covered in a bandage, and, as legend has it, cured the skin cancer, at least.).

The lady looked like a girl. Not just because she was barely five feet tall and covered in acne, but she had at least eight months of human fetus growing in her tummy and that made her look way too young to be pregnant. The un-haredawg-like thing? Her description is all I got. I mean we had a conversation and stuff, but, nothing snarky came to mind, no obvious backstory rife with irony or depravity, not a single zit joke. In fact this is the first and likely only place I’ll mention.

As not weird as that might seem to you, it’s weirder than shit to me. I have a constant running monologue in my head, most of which is snarky and paints reality with my favorite version of the immediate present. I didn’t even think about marijuana and pregnancy. Oh, she confessed to a not so legal practice when I was asking about some hardware; “Some of us tested it out back”. I still can’t think of a reasonable if short lecture on not telling strangers shit like that. And, except for that one lapse, she was very professional.

She knew a lot about some products and not much about others and didn’t hesitate in telling or admitting limited experience. I’m assuming “used out back” is downright illegal though for an individual probably a low misdemeanor and a fine. For a business it could mean shutting down. Even in Oregon, the state I’ve been in since the passing of a recreational marijuana law (though I was damn close to Washington and not far from Colorado) no public smoking. Whereas one could try to argue that the business was private and all attendant property fell under that provision, I think one would lose that case, in some significant part because the parking lot abuts other properties and smoke has a habit of floating.

In both Oregon and Michigan, under two different sets of laws, you even have to sign something (usually the first time) that you understand the marijuana must travel out of the drivers reach and that driving under the influence includes substances other than alcohol. It’s a reasonable law in my mind. Whether tourists know this or not, that’s sort of how Amsterdam works; they don’t want people stoned on the streets or driving.

Um, I probably did something else yesterday. Though it’s my latest compulsion, I’m a lightweight. I get stoned very easily and whereas I really don’t have to function I like to function.


Deleted user April 24, 2017

Lightweight is good right, like you're a cheap date.

Neogy Titwhistle April 25, 2017

Reasonable. Wouldn't want people stoned on cannabis idling around town clogging up the streets!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.