DAWN RITUALS in Postcards 4

  • April 22, 2017, 7:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public


These blowsey, white, clumpy roses are suddenly appearing everywhere all over the city.

Coffee….there is no life without coffee. These days, dear G staggers up the stairs with coffee for both of us plus a half slice of bread to go with my medications. While he does email and Facebook, I have a half hour to catchup with the local news. I’m a news junkie, one for all the garbage news. Nothing deep or earth shaking for me before the sun comes up.

In the middle of the car crashes and burning garages, he kisses me good bye and heads to the gym. Then it’s my turn at the computer. Facebook first. I can catch up with all my friends, read Dear Abby, and move on to “Kay’s Musings.” If I have time, I’ll read the notes on my blogs.

No matter how I feel about it, at 0645 I’m up dressed in a bathing suit I can pull up and headed off to the pool. Do I want to go. No.

Yes, I love to paint, to draw, to write, to volunteer, to quilt, but I am dogged about living as best I can right now. That means going to the pool. I’m more than dogged about the quality of my life as I near 75. All I have is today, and I am determined to do today with style.




  • Himself: Really enjoying talking to his callers today but getting little work done. He spent part of his lunch time with me today, and I loved it.

  • Herself: Strained something in my thumb and am telling the PT guy and avoiding the surgeon. Working gently to make it better.

  • Reading: Didn’t like the new Jance…to fragmented for what’s left of my mind. “On the Bottom” by Commander Ellsberg.

  • Gratitude’s: One more follow up OT appointment.


Hillbilly Princess April 22, 2017

Mystery April 22, 2017

Beautiful flowers. :-)

NorthernSeeker April 23, 2017

You live your life with style, I think. I really need to get more exercise.

Deleted user April 23, 2017

I try to avoid the news :-) I love those roses!

Marg April 29, 2017

That dogged determination will stand you in good stead methinks!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.