Picking Up the Chorus in Everyday Ramblings

  • April 20, 2017, 9:23 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

These tulips are in Kes and Most Honorable’s garden. I like the wash of color and slight imperfection of the wayward petal as if this were a painting.

There are pink blossoms out my east facing windows as the trees leaf out and the sidewalks and street out front are covered in white blossoms.

With all the rain we have had, late fall and winter were such a slog this year for all. I heard that changes in the Jet Stream are making this weird and unpredictable weather that we are all experiencing, more so.

My gym was still closed on Tuesday when I walked by on my way to the Apple store. I had every intention of going, I did. There are rumors that staff was allowed to return to work yesterday. The televisions were on in the empty gym. It was eerie, like something out of “The Leftovers”.

I have PT tonight so will try the gym again during the weekend.

There were not very many customers at the Apple store so I was able to get rather a lot of attention in purchasing a new iPad. Normally we recycle our technology to other family members but my old iPad was so slow and the battery life short that when they told me I would get $55 off the new one to recycle it I did that. That way I know it will get used.

We uploaded from my backup in the Cloud in the store and I chatted with staff while doing so. Actually, it was more I listened to the young man with big green plugs in his earlobes tell me about his college career and the technology he has at home. :)

I loved listening to the guy at the train station, with his kind combat medic eyes but I found this young man rather self-centered and not that interesting. Maybe because this was in the context of a purchase, while the medic with the scary inflammation in his lungs was in a travel circumstance.

Or am I being an ageist?

Probably.

The Spanish Civil War book is due back at the library tomorrow and I am not even halfway through it. Still I have very much enjoyed the parts I have read. It is this wonderfully vivid and yet delicate description of what it is like to be in a city during a civil war. I feel so sad for all who are experiencing that now, the hunger, the danger, the constant terror and the determination to live life as fully as possible.

She describes this benefit “festival” the journalists go to (including Hemmingway) during the day… a tap dancer in tails and top hat, a very old flamenco singer and a skit between a priest and a housewife, both of whom kept their backs turned squarely to the audience so that no one could hear what they said. Everyone cheered a lot, so it was evidently a success….

…During periods of inactivity they lobbed grenades and mortars back and forth and broke the monotony by shouting insults across the short no-man’s land; other times they sang flamenco love-songs and occasionally, in the quiet of the night, the enemy picked up the chorus…

There is a clear visual quality to her writing that I so admire. I am glad to have stumbled onto this book.

St. Joe is now gone for a week. Eek. I am already looking forward to him coming back and hope he has a great time on his travels.


Last updated April 20, 2017


Zipster April 20, 2017

What lovely long stems those tulips have, so graceful. I don't think you are being ageist, just honest.

Lyn April 20, 2017

Lovely tulips. I too am struck by their height and color.

Nah, not ageist, just discriminating.

Deleted user April 20, 2017

I love the color of the tulips ! I can not imagine what it must be like to live in the midst of war . Of course I see today N. Korea says it is planning a preemptive strike against us and we will all just be smoldering ash when he gets done . Joy :-(

Deleted user April 22, 2017

Lovely tulips.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.