Back in the Thickets in Everyday Ramblings

  • April 17, 2017, 12:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday morning. Sigh. The three and a half days went by so fast! But they were mellow and sweet.

We didn’t even have that much rain. I was able to get out for long walks and spend hours watching the sky change over the beach.

Our vegetable consumption was meritorious; we had them with every ad hoc meal we prepared. For the first time ever we didn’t plan specific dinners but we all sort of ended up eating similar things most times with substitutions for individual taste.

It was much less prep work for Kes and I believe she enjoyed that. She got a lot of knitting done while I practiced yoga and prepped my class for tonight and read and read and colored in a coloring book of birds.

When Most Honorable came down we all split a bottle of wine and watched the second in the current iteration of the Star Trek franchise movies.

This whole Star Trek story line is getting a little too complicated to follow. Oh well. :)

I didn’t gain any weight. The challenge now is to maintain the not gaining. It is always so tempting to eat for me when I come home from a nice getaway because the usual stressors lock-on.

I am still three pounds over goal! Grrr. It is annoying.

The municipal powers that be are saying they think the building my gym is in is reopening today. So I can return to doing my leg presses tomorrow. I did find walking up sand dunes a challenging exercise for strengthening the legs.

The cats were fine. My cat sitter said they were quite fun to hang out with. They are, however, having no trouble whatsoever returning to regularly scheduled programing.

It was weirdly warm yesterday. Folks were a little irritable. I had a bit of a challenge getting the Uber car I ordered to find me near the train station last night and the whole reason I was doing this was so I didn’t need to lug my pack around with me. It wasn’t too bad and the driver was nice once we finally connected but it made me grumpy.

A few hours curled up with a mystery with Diego flat of my legs and Carlo snuggled up close and I was fine.

One just needs to accept that the weather is going to be weird from now on. We are going to continue to have rain through April but there will be a few dry days in there as we go along.

We are getting into the weeds of a massive computer system upgrade at work added on top of all the other stuff I am doing (with no additional resources, be happy you have a job, girlfriend mode) so there will both be overtime and more than usual office time in the next few weeks.

Oh and St. Joe is taking a week off to go to Disneyland and a music festival with his new wife.

But at least I have my classes and my practice and the two goofball felines I live with to keep me out of trouble.

…and a couple of massive (one can hope!) demonstrations over the next two weekends. For Science and the Environment.

I’ll be there.


Last updated April 17, 2017


Deleted user April 17, 2017

You will be busy ! Take care !

Lyn April 17, 2017

Stunning picture.

Yay for a wonderful, recuperating weekend.

Ear skritches for Carlos and Diego. 😸

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.