Seasons in 2017

Revised: 04/13/2017 12:21 a.m.

  • April 8, 2017, 6 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Seasons are not only particular to weather. They can describe different points in our life as well. Jessica Martin-Weber (@theleakyboob) did a talk at MommyCon two years ago relating seasons to our intimate relationships with partners. Yep. Absolutely. Talked about how it is difficult when you are in a Spring (for example) and your partner is having a long Winter.

Grief is a winter season. And Ivy died in the winter, calendar speaking. Now spring is here and things are growing. The world is beginning to bloom as buds bring promise to glorious green life. Oh, I remember the anticipation of this spring with a new baby in our family. We are usually gifted with a membership somewhere by my grandmother (awesome gift!) and rather than our usual zoo, I opted for the arboretum based on its close proximity to our house. Even then I wasnt sure I would be up for the task of bringing 3 children (one infant) on day trips all the time. The arboretum is literally 5 minutes. And beautiful. The kids and I should really enjoy that this year. I just need to move past the looming thought that we were going to be bringing Ivy there with us.

So in this instance, Spring is hard. The very thing that is bringing life to us and our children is also bearing the reminder of her absence. At least for me. Baby girl, we had such plans for you to just meld into our family. The beautiful weather doesnt quite match my emotional season. But I am trying.

And through even the colder days, sunshine has been trying to peek through


Last updated April 13, 2017


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.