Missed in 2017

Revised: 04/12/2017 6:09 p.m.

  • Feb. 17, 2017, midnight
  • |
  • Public

Its really proving hard for me to know that Ivy was here, and then suddenly she wasnt.

She was not sick.

There were no medical anomalies.

She was small. 5 pounds and 12 ounces. Small for a newborn, but definitely small for one of my babies. Orion (aka Turkey, baby#2) was 7lb14oz and Fiona (aka Bear, baby#1) was 9lbs7oz. Her cord was long. Im going to inquire as to the exact length, but it was long enough to be wrapped around her neck at least 4 times.

Thats a big knot.

I find myself wondering if she became tangled the night she flipped head down (around 36 weeks). And if so, would they not see cord when I was being scanned in the office to check position? I already feel like I should have been more aware of movements. But I have worked in obgyn for 6 years. I didnt think to be alarmed until it was already too late.

Too late.

And this is where my brain stops analyzing the story. Because I have no more answers. I wish I could know when she died. Within 36 hours of birth is just too large of a space. My heart longs to know the exact moment, so I can search for any signs that might have been present.

Ivy girl, you were tiny and perfect. My arms and heart ache without you here. And I dont know how to reconcile knowing we missed each other by a handful of hours.


Last updated April 12, 2017


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.