attachment/aversion in Random Thoughts

  • April 12, 2017, 2:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

In behavioral theory (which i know some of because i am a special education teacher), you learn that kids have behaviors (not necessarily bad things, it could be anything) have two motivations: wanting something or aversion to something. My school psych also mentioned something about wanting control over a situation as a motivator, too. But that seems like it would be in the “wanting something” category.

In yoga, i realized recently, there is a similar thought: attachment and aversion, desire and avoidance.

I was just asking myself recently: What is the motivation behind what is going on in my head regarding Ian? I know there is a mix of both attachment/desire and aversion/grasping.

I had a few really rough days! I had to slow myself down and take a good look at what was going on with me and why. At one point i even resorted to a strategy i used to use: just ignore it all, or end it. Ugh.

Well, i need to get back to work. I’ll come back later and edit.


WhatDreamsMayCome April 12, 2017

If knowing what we wanted was only easier.
;-)

Deleted user April 12, 2017

I hope whatever you decided brings you happiness and contentment .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.