Loads of 'I don't know how to do this' type stuff in I've arrived!

  • Jan. 28, 2014, 2:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I like it here. I think. But people keep telling me it's easy to use and I'm not finding that. For starters, I don't know how to reply to a comment so my reply shows below theirs. I don't know how to put a picture into an entry - although I did eventually manage to do that last night by complete fluke and lots of swearing. I don't know how to find people or to see what entries their comments to me go under. I just seem to have one massive inbox with comments in it, rather than comments under each entry. Or maybe they are under the entries too and I somehow need to find them there for this all to make sense? I don't know. I find this site simple LOOKING but not very simple to navigate. Perhaps I'm just set in my ways and old or something. But then, I found Facebook baffling at first, and now I'm fine with that, so I suppose patience is required here. Anyway, here I am, floundering about. It's good to see some other people here that I knew from the other place, but I haven't a clue how to look at their diaries or reply to the messages they've left me. So if you've left me a comment and not had a reply - bear with! I'm trying to figure this whole thing out.

One other thing. Bookmarks and Friends. What's the difference? And how do you find out who has friended/bookmarked you?


Flame is Love January 28, 2014

Here's a comment to play with. Reply away.

Go to your entry with the comment. Click the entry title right up above my username. I'll wait...

Now you should see my comment below the entry that you wrote. Down below is a box that says reply. If you click on that, it'll reply to my comment in line so I'll also be notified that you replied.

It's a little more like livejournal than OD but comment conversations were always OD's weakness for me.

Sapphire Flame is Love ⋅ January 29, 2014

I was going to say the same thing. Took me a while to work out too ...!

Icklewriter Flame is Love ⋅ February 02, 2014

Aha! Got it! Thanks for showing me how in Fisher Price language, that's exactly what I needed. :-) Hopefully I've got this right...

Flame is Love Icklewriter ⋅ February 02, 2014

Looks like you've got it. :-)

Flame is Love January 28, 2014

PS: Welcome to Prosebox!

Icklewriter Flame is Love ⋅ February 13, 2014

Thank you!

Sapphire January 29, 2014

As far as I can tell Follow is the diaries you want to read, and Friends is the people you want to give access to any friends only stuff. At the moment i think you can only mark a whole book friends only, (or members, or public, or private) but hopefully in the future there'll be the option to set access for specific entries.

For adding photos, you need to have the URL of it, rather than being able to upload one ... But as far as I remember there's a little image link in the tool bar above the entry box and you just click that and add the URL.

I know you can search for people in the nav bar on the left, but I'm not sure about other ways (eg the people that the people you follow follow, if you get what I mean!)

Icklewriter Sapphire ⋅ February 02, 2014

Thanks for this - I'll have a rummage. I need to write a long rant but I'm not feeling up to it right now. Thankfully, we still have a place for safe ranting!

Songbird3 February 08, 2014

Reading through your comments because I have the same questions. I've bookmarked people by accident and now I don't know how to undo it.

At any rate, nice to see you here.

Icklewriter Songbird3 ⋅ February 13, 2014

Yay! Good to see you too! I've bookmarked/friended/whatever you. I haven't a clue what I'm doing. Still!

Songbird3 February 13, 2014

I figured out how to unbookmark someone. Go to their profile page. See that little green rectangle at the top of the page? It says "follow" and "Friend." When you check follow it bookmarks them. Click it again and it will undo. It's just a toggle switch.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.