Sure signs of spring...pix fix in These titles mean nothing.

Revised: 04/09/2017 11:54 a.m.

  • April 9, 2017, 8:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text

  1. Calendar says so. It’s been spring now for a couple weeks - the second quarter of the year - the Equinox thing. Plus next week is Easter.

  2. See above and below for brand new fresh crocus photos. Jim took then and is guilting me into putting them up on line.

  3. The door to the deck is open after having been sealed shut - it leaks - all winter. Dogs, kids, assorted people, me - all like being able to access the deck directly from the house rather than having to go around from the back porch or down through the cellar door.

  4. This is being written from said deck. It still has its tilt but it’s not any worse than it was last year. It’s a little before 7 AM on the second Sunday morning in April. It’s warm and cloudy and a big moist. Gracie is reclining on the lawn, chin between her paws. Hans is on the deck with me. I’m barefoot, through otherwise pretty much fully clothed. I’m thinking of a quick bath and hair wash when I get done here.

  5. A few minutes ago there were turkey gobbles from the woods behind me. Now rat-a-tats from a woodpecker seeking breakfast from a dead tree. And lots of general peeps and trills far and near announcing, like Dan Damon said on BBC last week, that the birds indeed have their new batteries. One of the super powers I’d like to have is to be able to identify bird song. One I think I know is the cardinal’s FIERCE FIERCE FIERCE and I heard that yesterday.

  6. Deb’s niece is getting married next month. Yesterday was a shower and bachelorette party. Katie qualified for one but not the other. Thus we have John and Will and Katie along with Hans. They brought all sorts of sports equipment. Bow and two arrows which they have been shooting into a hay bale in the driveway between the house and the barn. Baseball equipment for extended catch between Jim and Will. And I believe a saw a golf club or two too.

  7. Yesterday afternoon when we were all assembled seeing Joana off in the driveway/area between house and barn, we saw a bald eagle in a tree across the field by the creek. We walked toward it and got all the way to the crossing before the eagle took a deep swoop from the branch and flew across the creek. Rock skipping, stick floating and dog bathes ensued.

  8. My job has been extended. Now they say the end of the year and they are not certain what will happen then. Very odd. There aren’t very many of us left. Cars cluster together in the parking lot = well we leave plenty of door opening space but the back row where I always parked hasn’t had a car in it for months. I’m making 100 cute little harnesses for Canadian cement trucks. Life is so whatever it is. The guy who lost his leg snowmobiling was in a few weeks ago. The woman who had a seizure can come back in August. The woman with cancer will not come back - I so need to send her a card - she was so good to me and we shared a lot of life. The woman who had her knee replaced should be back soon. The guy who had back surgery also.

  9. I’m starting to reread Transit of Venus by Shirley Hazzard. My god, that is a beautiful book. Australian sisters seeking their fortune in the big world. I laughed out loud at a line in which someone thought they were happier than their state in life warranted. I watched a couple old Barney Millers on youtube before I went to work two days this week. Delightful show, holds up pretty well, yet reminds you of your own past. The prostitute who charmed everyone/who knew everyone was very sweet.

  10. Is such a nice round easy enclosing number. Count those fingers. Count those toes. Move that decimal point. Thus, I will leave you now and run some water in the bath tub. I would promise to write again soon but who the hell knows what I will do. Not me, for sure. Anyway, it’s now a little after 7 AM, barn pigeons coo, cows moo, birds still call. Do me a favor please, enjoy your life for me today. And the next day, and the one after that.

alt text

Funny how there are a bunch of ways to do things. Photobucket used to let me click on the second from the bottom choice of posting options on right side and it would tell me ‘copied’ in yellow print I think and I could then come directly to Prosebox and copy whatever it was directly into the editing window and wallahhhhh (joke) there my pic would be.
Lately I have to put cursor on the photo and right click and copy image location and then come to PB’s editing window and hit the photo icon and then copy said image location and then I’d have the pic.
Since I don’t do thins often any more and I have no memory anyway, today I posted the URL of the Photobucket page which of course did not work. Oddly enough doing it that way lets you post Youtube videos directly into Prosebox.
Here to see if that works -

1978 - those were the days.


Last updated April 09, 2017


NorthernSeeker April 09, 2017

Darn...I can't see the photos. Are they lavender coloured crocuses? It's really weird about your factory not closing/moving to Mexico. I wonder if it has anything to do with Trump and his vows to make things difficult on businesses that move to Mexico. It might be still running when you decide to retire. We are getting our birds and their song back, but it's later than it usually is.

gattaca April 09, 2017

This reads like Harper Lee. I love it. :-)

NorthernSeeker April 09, 2017

I see the flowers now...beautiful.

Deleted user April 09, 2017

Gorgeous crocus! It's always nice on the farm :-) I love all the Nature . Good to see your entry ! Come back soon !

Just Annie April 09, 2017

Nice list and lovely photographs! I gave up on Photobucket. I'm trying SmugMug for a 14 day free trial. I like it, but I haven't decided if I want to subscribe. I probably will, my grandmotherly pride outweighs my frugality.

Deleted user Just Annie ⋅ April 10, 2017

Someone suggested postimg.org to me and I've been using it. It's great (and free)!

Deleted user April 10, 2017

So nice to read your spring thoughts! Those crocus pictures are beautiful. I too would love to identify bird song. I went to a free 'dawn chorus' walk in our big park here last year and they identified a number of common birds but I forgot them all. I do remember that the cardinal sounds like it's shooting laser guns (the walk leader actually pretended she was shooting lasers... 'shoo shoo shoo' and I've never forgotten that, and can identify them easily now. Interesting that you identify it as 'fierce fierce fierce'. The only other one I remember is the chickadee, which makes a number of sounds, but an identifying one is 'chickadee dee dee... chicka dee dee'. Obviously that's not what it says, but it has that rhythm, and at a high intonation. I'll bet you'll hear it if you listen today! They say robins chatter as if they have a whole winter's worth of goings-on to catch up on, so I've been trying to identify that too. I'm amazed by those who can identify almost any bird sound, especially since most birds have several different calls/songs.

Enjoy that deck!

ODSago April 11, 2017

The cardinals here in Fl sound like sweet-sweet-sweet to me, always have but a friend mine say that they make many sounds and not just this one. Loved your long and sense loaded (in dual ways) message on PB today. Crocus picture! Thank you. They were like triggers setting off the message that spring was arriving when I lived in VA. Here, when I first arrived, there were little wild grass orchids in the lawn doing that announcement, but over the years...they have vanished in my lawns.

Serin April 16, 2017

Used to watch barney miller with my dad.

I have a cardinal in the back yard. When my window is open, he likes to park real close and loudly declaim his adventures with the ladies (a cardinal, but clearly not a gentleman), disrupting phone calls and generally interrupting anything that isn't paying attention to him.

I'm still waiting to find out it my job is extended.

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ April 17, 2017

Catholic Digest when I was a kid had anecdotes at the end of its stories like Readers Digest. One was about a little girl reporting she had seen the Cardinal on the church steps ( a prelate had been expected). Her mom was skeptical, was he wearing his beretta (or something cardinal like). The girls said she couldn't tell because before she could get close he flew away.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.