Short Take With Photo (Really) in Everyday Ramblings

  • April 8, 2017, 2:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Photobucket is somewhat operational again so I was able to get this picture and yesterdays up. It is weird because I could see my photo yesterday but apparently none of you could. Something to do with the controls on Google Photo I guess.

I have a bunch of stuff to do but am procrastinating because I am tired. Yesterday turned out to be insane at work and then I had a lovely one-student class where I could just concentrate on my solitary student and focus on her specific needs and limitations. The studio owners have provided blankets lately and I love being able to wrap students in a blanket at the end of class for rest and meditation.

Afterwards we started chatting and that went on for a wonderful engaged hour. I don’t regret a second of it but I did get home late and then was a little too keyed up to get to sleep and then I finally got to sleep and just after I did some young woman started ringing all the doorbells in the building. Ughh.

This week I got to hear a lecture from another sometime student (who doesn’t always put money in the donation jar even though she has the means) about how I absolutely need to do whatever it takes to make money teaching. As if I didn’t, you know, like, umm, know that?

My PT wants me to start doing leg presses, which requires going to the gym. As far as strength goes, apparently a healthy person is supposed to be able to leg press their body weight with both legs and half their body weight with one leg. I managed half my body weight with both legs! I have some work to do in this area.

Stronger legs mean healthier knees and back. I also need to learn how to turn on my glutes, the big muscles in my, umm, derriere.

He is pretty convinced that this all has to do with my paraspinal muscles going into spasms because of the scoliosis in my back that I had been doing an excellent job of compensating for until this year.

Kes said something funny last night. “I keep going into the kitchen looking for energy and it is not there.”

Don’t we all?

I shared that at my meeting this morning and everybody laughed with recognition. I also sat next to the woman I met with Tuesday so that was just so cool.

Those are camellias up there from a tree about a half a block away this morning that is in front of a small historic cottage that has been for sale for over a year.

Although we have showers the river is finally below flood stage and the wind has died down.

Okay I need to focus and get some things done. I hope to catch up with you all this week.


Last updated April 08, 2017


Lyn April 08, 2017

Sounds like you have a leg up on things. 😁

😼🐈 I bet the boys did not approve of your coming home late. 😏

noko Lyn ⋅ April 08, 2017

You are correct. 🐱 We operate on a very strict schedule here. Diego in particular is like having a constant time keeper that purrs.

Deleted user April 08, 2017

That's pretty hypocritical of that student . Shame on her for not donating .

Deleted user April 08, 2017

Tha camellias are gorgeous !

mcbee April 09, 2017

The physical therapists have always been more helpful to me than any doctor!

ODSago April 11, 2017

The camellias are just fantastic to see. They are the only plant I miss leaving behind in my former garden. Love that kitchen search comment! I wander into the two unused rooms, for guests, here and have that same sense of searching I do believe. If it is commonplace, I'll share that when I did go to a gym my thighs were very fast to regain their former strength, more so than other muscles in my body. May yours be the same.

edna million April 13, 2017

I have no idea what I could leg press -- I should probably find out! That is pretty weird about the hypocritical student, but Prairie Wind may be onto something.

Gorgeous picture!!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.