Preparations in Day by Day

  • April 8, 2017, 12:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I cooked up a honey glazed ham yesterday, carved it and layered it in a baking dish with pineapple and apples and stuck it back in the freezer for Easter. It is much easier doing it ahead of time. Now I can just heat the ham, mac & cheese, and maple-orange carrots, which is a real time saver. Since I have the juices, I can make the gravy ahead and keep it warm on the stove and I ALWAYS make the mashed potatoes a few hours before dinner and keep them warm in the crockpot. So the only last minute thing to do will be the broccoli. I get so tired so easily nowadays, that this should be a real help. Looks like there will be 9 of us, 11 if my brother and his wife are up to coming.

Our nephew and family stopped in to drop off the leftover supplies from their stay out on the key, so my already full fridge is bursting at the seams. Most of it will get used, but not sure what I’ll do with a full box of Lucky Charms cereal. They also included a half jar of Nutella spread. I’ve never tried it so am curious to taste it later. It looks like a dark peanut butter.

Sunday is the two year anniversary of Nick’s death, so I’ve planned an easy week of it. If I’m touchy, please forgive. It’s just that scab coming off the wound. A necessary evil that you never adjust to.

We’re starting to firm up plans for our New England trip in October. Eldest son bought the tickets for everyone (with our $1000 voucher and he picked up the remainder), youngest son has arranged an air bnb for two nights in Boston’s North End (we’re walking the Freedom Trail, something I’ve not done in years), and step-mom is putting us up in Rockport for a couple of nights, so that leaves me to figure out lodging for a couple of nights. I’m thinking something moderate to high-end in Boston or something in the Concord/Lexington area so we can do the Minuteman thing. I grew up with this stuff, but the boys haven’t been there since they were small children (youngest doesn’t remember it at all), so it’ll be fun to share with them again.

And yes, I plan to eat lobster every day of our stay!

Guess I’d better go and do something. I need to get my bank statement printed out so I can drop the first quarter work at the accountant’s on my way to church, then it’s dinner with friends after church.

I hate that we’re getting sucked into another war. I think the poisoning of innocent people is horrendous, but I think the US needs to stop being policeman of the world.


GypsyWynd April 08, 2017

Lobster?!!? Every. Day.?!?!?! I'm stowing away in your suitcase!!!! I was in Rockport once. It was pretty.
I love Nutella. Chocolate and hazelnut. YUM. It's good mixed with peanut butter, too. Cuts the sweetness/richness a little.
Mom and I do Thanksgiving like that......try to get as much done ahead of time as possible (even the turkey)

ConnieK GypsyWynd ⋅ April 08, 2017

I found the Nutella too sweet. I'll try it with PB next. OF COURSE lobster every day when in New England! And Italian "grinders" (sub sandwiches) for lunch. :)

GypsyWynd ConnieK ⋅ April 08, 2017

You'll have to have 2 every day.....one for you........and one for me!!

ConnieK GypsyWynd ⋅ April 08, 2017

DEAL!

GypsyWynd ConnieK ⋅ April 08, 2017

Really had to twist your arm, didn't I ? ;-P

ConnieK GypsyWynd ⋅ April 08, 2017

I'm a pushover for lobster. And, hey, that's what friends are for. Not to mention the sacrifices I'm willing to make for the cause.

Soooooo....how'sit workin'? :)

Shattered April 08, 2017

Yessss! It drives me nuts that we stick our noses into everything we shouldn't be.

Glad you have Easter dinner mostly wrapped up. It's a lot of work.

How's your brother doing? (Sorry if I've missed any major updates.)

ConnieK Shattered ⋅ April 08, 2017

Haven't talked to my brother since last week, so don't know how the doctor appointment on Friday went, but it was a consultation (ALL they do is consultation, it seems, but to be fair, not much can be done now that he's on blood thinners).

Ragdolls April 09, 2017

Both of my daughters love Nutella. I can take it or leave it. Meh.... If I am going to waste my carbs and calories it will be on something much better than that. Now lobster? Oh, YUM!!!

ConnieK Ragdolls ⋅ April 09, 2017

I guess I'm not getting it on the Nutella, either. :)

WildflowerHeart April 09, 2017

Nutella was my alternative for peanut butter (allergy) but I didn't care for it. And I had a reaction to it too. Pfft. =(

ConnieK WildflowerHeart ⋅ April 09, 2017

Nutella is made from hazelnuts, so if you have a peanut allergy, you are probably allergic to other nuts, as well.

WildflowerHeart ConnieK ⋅ April 09, 2017

Only one I haven't had a reaction to is almonds. But I'm always afraid of breaking a tooth so... lol rare consumption.

QueenSuzu April 10, 2017

Missed replying but I had read this entry and thought about you yesterday and sent you a virtual ((hug))--hope you got it but if not use it today!

ConnieK QueenSuzu ⋅ April 10, 2017

It was a difficult day, but we weathered the storm. Thanks for the hugs and good wishes.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.