Slippery Slope in Everyday Ramblings

  • April 7, 2017, 10:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I took this from the train on Sunday while we were stopped just south of Willamette Falls (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Willamette_Falls) to let another train pass. That is one of the many pleasures of taking the train south, being right up next to the amazing falls on the tracks, something one can’t see from the freeway.

Someday I’ll get a decent picture of the power of the falls. One tries to imagine it before this area was settled by Europeans.

Now it is all dilapidated buildings with big read danger warnings spray- painted all over them. There is a plan to make a park and visitor center out of the old mill and locks but there doesn’t seem to be the money. I have this sad image in my mind that if we survive this 45th President more of our landscape treasures will look like this.

At least Mr. Bannon is no longer sitting on the Security Council. Thank goodness for some reason drifting through the White House and Washington.

I can’t get Photobucket to work.

We are in the middle of a big windstorm and lots of folks (including St. Joe) are without power. And it just started raining. They sent a bunch of kids home early all over the area just to be safe.

Monday’s class was great fun. I had a full studio and there was good energy. We even had a drop in student who had seen the sign in the window and bravely came alone. She is lovely and I was a little concerned this high-spirited group would be intimidating but she told me she felt very welcome.

Then Wednesday I had no students.

Other than my concern about paying the studio rent I was fine with that because I was so tired. It is a big overtime week and on Tuesday I walked over to our Belmont district to this wonderful tea house to meet the woman who I had a six minute conversation with at Weight Watchers.

She is a social worker and has excellent people skills and totally put me at ease. She asked me a lot of questions and I talked about myself more than I think I have in about a year. Boy, when you get into your sixties you have a fair about of life back there.

At least I do. I liked her. She has done yoga in the past and so I could actually talk about it in a bit more detail than I usually do and that was a joy for me. Now her knees are problematic so she has concerns and does water aerobics and weight lifting.

We are going to see if we can meet a bit tomorrow morning at the meeting too. She got her dog from the same rescue place I got the cats and knows a lot about them and that was nice to know.

Mrs. Sherlock is in Sedona for a couple of weeks. I am not jealous, no… so no walkies with Frida until she gets back.

Although I haven’t had any Diet Coke (well I had about 16 oz. awhile ago) in 11 months and I haven’t been in a 7-Eleven since then I am getting a bit slippery and having a Diet Dr. Pepper more often than I would like.

It started because of this change in diet and really cutting back on sugar.

I need to make a decision about this all soon. Figure out a way to eat that keeps my weight under goal and that helps me feel the best I can.

Why should that be so darn hard???

Fingers crossed we are able to get Joe’s power back today before his food spoils and the rest of us keep ours.

And oh yeah, maybe we can avoid going to war with Russia?


Last updated April 08, 2017


Zipster April 08, 2017

It is so darn hard because of the things they put into foods to addict us! I'm on a new diet and I ate a tiny bit of dark chocolate and felt it immediately (I'm struggling with GERD). Lesson learned. I wish I could see your photo; I worry about what the end result of these next 4 years will be.

Deleted user April 08, 2017

Sadly,I cannot see your photo today.

Deleted user April 08, 2017

Photobox has not worked for me the last two days and I pay for the biggest storage. Half or more of my pictures have just disappeared. I can't even see how to contact them to complain :-(
Not ending up in a war with Russia would be good ...

ODSago April 08, 2017

Missing the photo...maybe later? Lovely time with that new friend you mention...I enjoy those kinds of times with new friends, maybe because I live alone and while I have an enormous need to talk to people -- there's no one here to talk to. Thinking that you will have a lot of success in the coming weeks, hoping that for your classes.

edna million April 13, 2017

The diet/good weight/satisfaction balance is really hard.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.