The Destroyer in Grey skies

  • April 5, 2017, 3:06 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The dark parts of my life have been instrumental to person I am and who I am becoming. By witnessing or facing mistreatment, I realize the immense impact our actions or words have on others.

Our worst selves remains the perception others have of us and that impression can last forever. I remember my biological fathers cruelty and tricks and that is all I have left.

When start to lose our memories of someone we knew is the past, we remember the way they made us feel.

And I know it isn’t that simple for the people closest to us. They can be a mix of highs and lows- but this is more a reminder to myself to:

Not to be a victim- if I blame others, I continue a vicious cycle of externally lashing out or holding hurt in. Rather I can take opportunities to express and stand up against injustices.

To remind myself we don’t choose what we are born into. However, what I say to people, what I stand up for and what I consume makes a difference.

To realize my actions and words impact others more an extent than I know. At the same time that kind actions and words can uplift others, cruelty can equally destroy.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.