Celebrating the Ordinary in Everyday Ramblings

  • April 3, 2017, 9:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

If you have been reading here you will notice something extraordinary about this picture I took yesterday morning. Yes! Not only is it not raining we had blue sky!!! At 9 AM. It is a miracle.

I was taking the train to Salem to visit, Kes, Most Honorable, Jack and Henry.

Just like Diego has a thing about my glasses and will bap them onto the floor from wherever I put them down (he knows he’ll get attention that way so I put them in a drawer when I go to bed), Henry tries to mess with Kes’s knitting bag to see if he can get in and play because it certainly gets her attention.

He is a sleek handsome healthy curious almost grown now kitty dude.

We played with a classic piece of regular string for a good long time and Jack even got in on the action a bit. Cousin cats are much less work than grandchildren…

And on Saturday I had a lovely walk with calmer Frida, my standard poodle friend. We had to change our route because the river is so high from runoff that the east side esplanade is closed. We still have lowland flooding. They say The Columbia might finally fall below flood stage tomorrow afternoon. Wow.

It is not supposed to rain, except maybe a little, until late tonight. We had quite dramatic skies yesterday afternoon but it did not rain on St. Joe’s wedding.

I did have three wonderful engaged students on Friday and was able to break even on the studio rent for the quarter. Kes was going to send some info about the classes out to her friends who live here and I got my Facebook page for yoga operational and am going to send a flyer to a former student who works a few blocks away in a big local company who has agreed to put it up in their break room. Small little steps.

I still have over 1,000 days until I am able to retire. Not that I am counting. :)

Tonight is the beginning of our spring session with the church so I will have a big enthusiastic class and I know that will do wonders for my spirits and I hope theirs too.

At lunchtime I went to the grocery store and it was more crowded than usual and strangers were smiling at me and I am like what is going on. Duh. It is the sun, the sun is shinning. We are all giddy.

Well, I was irritable and giddy at the same time. I had forgotten to mention something in explaining a new process to St. Joe and I made an assumption that he would know to do it and it didn’t happen and now I need to figure out how to fix it.

And I continue to struggle with keeping my weight down after making some changes to my diet to help mitigate migraines.

I am getting together tomorrow with a lovely woman from my Weight Watchers group to have tea in the evening and talk about our “food story” and our struggles. She had originally invited me over to dinner with her partner when she heard I eat alone most of the time but that just seemed a bit much so I countered with the neutral coffee shop place idea and she was relieved.

And so was I.

Other than that I am in the mood for a blissfully ordinary week. With world events and climate change moving at such a fast and crazy making pace a nice ordinary week sounds a bit like heaven.


Lyn April 03, 2017

Yay for dry weather ⛅ cats, and a blissfully ordinary week!

I think I have inherited your rain forecast here is for rain most of the coming week. ☔
Enjoy that enthusiastic class.

Ear skritches for all the cats. 😸

noko Lyn ⋅ April 03, 2017

It is better than snow, right? No shoveling. Hope you are able to stay dry through it. Sandwich bags do work for cell phones amazingly well. We all have lots of practice now. You can still use the touch screen through the wet plastic...

Lyn noko ⋅ April 03, 2017

Oh yeah, better than snow. Raincoats and umbrellas way better than boots and gloves!

Deleted user April 04, 2017

Yes for blue skies !!! And for no rain on St. Joe's wedding . And always for cats although Caleb is driving me crazy . He has started peeing for spite again on anything he finds sitting around; like throws, pillows. I love the silly cat but I think he is doing everything possible to make it impossible for me to keep him :-( I know he is not sick , it seems to be an emotional issue :-(

Zipster April 04, 2017

oh the blue sky must be a welcome sight; may it continue.

mcbee April 04, 2017

And a beautiful blue sky it is!

edna million April 04, 2017

Oh, blue sky and blooms! That is REALLY cheery. We've got blue sky today, but the blooms are a little behind schedule thanks to the weirdly cold weather from a few weeks ago. It certainly helps in the mood department to see some sunshine.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.