Have some perspective, people! in Stuff

  • April 2, 2017, 2:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Doing a cycling-entry. Haven’t done one of these in a while. Usually when I do these, I’ll finish an entry and realise I’ve been cycling for half an hour.
Anyway, I need to release some stress today after that shift at work.

Customers are monsters. Ergh. ERGH. I was very short throughout the day, not giving very good customer service at all LOL. But fuck me, when I’m getting asked questions like, “Why don’t you have the milk I usually get?”, “I want my eggs!” and, “You don’t have any soy yoghurt,” I was at the point where I was standing there blinking in disbelief at them.
Have they been living under a rock the past 5 days? Did they just come down from the nearest cloud? Fly in from Jamaica that morning, maybe?

We have a fucking natural disaster happening literally a 20 minute drive away. People’s houses and businesses were and are under water. By all means Customer, if you want to grab your snorkel and dive down under the floodwater to milk the fucking cow yourself (because that’s probably where the poor thing is), then you can have your God-damn specialty milk.

Customers don’t get it. That there’s a flow-on effect. Given the fact of what’s happened/happening, I’m stunned at how much stock our store does have. We’ve done well, considering, but the warehouses are running a day behind on deliveries. When I walked in, the produce section was looking pretty bare. Fresh produce is obviously going to be the hardest hit.
My department was pretty much just out of milk and eggs, but we still had some of the more pricey varieties. But no, Gladis wanted her $2 milk and no other, didn’t she.
I was filling what was left in our milk storeroom when a customer called out to me through the fridge for her product, and when I reminded her that the milk factory was probably under water, she’s like, “Is that why everything looks like shit?”
I just said, “Yeah, that’s why,” and kept working.

Man, those poor stores down south that went completely under- what a cleanup job they’ll have. To think I was in Lismore only 3 months ago for Tropical Fruits, shopping in that shopping centre that went under. Fucking unreal seeing the video footage on the news. The water has receeded there now and left devastation, but now there is a warning for Rockhampton, which is back up north in my state! I’m smack-bang in the middle of all this flooding, safe and cosy, but I’m certainly not oblivious to what’s happening around me. The cleanup from the cyclone itself is happening up north and probably will for months yet, and the aftermath of the tropical low by the time it got to where I am was still nasty but I have nothing to write home about other than a fuckload of rain.
Walking to work and back, there are strewn tree branches and leaves everywhere, but that’s about it. Nothing a few street sweepers won’t fix.

But these customers today ergh. If I go into a supermarket and see nothing there, I can understand why. I’ll take what is there and not whinge and bitch about it.

Fuckers.


Swanny April 02, 2017

Pretty awful isn't it....

magicstar April 02, 2017

Aside from just being assholes, I think there's also just absolutely no understanding of where food comes from. I remember one time when I was living in Fairbanks there were really bad mudslides in the south, so the main road was out and the trains couldn't get up from Anchorage and the fresh section of the grocery store was completely bare......but people weren't bitching at the poor workers about it. Like, everyone understood how food got into Fairbanks.

nthaniel April 02, 2017

Yeah, that happens on my job, too. In Kansas, there was a pretty big, devastating fire that destroyed almost 30 homes in one city alone, but people from that area had to call and complain that their internet was acting up. I felt like telling them to be grateful their house wasn't burned to the ground, but I can't be that way, per job rules. If it were strictly on a personal level, I'd have been lighting in to some of them. I talked to one guy right in the middle of where the fire had been, but he was lucky enough not to be affected by it (not so, his neighbors on any side). HE was polite, nerve-wracked, and I told him (and meant it) that I was genuinely glad he was safe and not injured in any way. HE redeemed all the others.

KissOfLife! nthaniel ⋅ April 02, 2017

Aww that poor guy!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.