Psych Follow-Up in Mental Health, 2017

  • March 30, 2017, 10:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today was my follow-up appointment with my psychiatrist, who I last saw 6 months ago. After her Medical Assistant took my vitals, she came and got me and walked me back to her office. As soon as she closed the door she asked, “Have you lost weight?” Ha, noooo if she’d look at the vitals that the MA just took, she’d see that I neither gained nor lost. (Thank God for not gaining!) After I said no, she was like “Really?!?! You look like you’ve lost weight since I last saw you.” Nope. Maybe the 6 weeks of full-contact football practices/scrimmages toned me up and I do look thinner, but have the same weight because of muscle? I didn’t say that, I just let her keep talking. It’s like she’s having a hard time believing everything I say. I’ve been completely honest this whole time, but I know she probably isn’t used to that.

And there was no talk about how I got read the riot act for not being able to pee for the drug test and how they tricked me into coming into the clinic (Fuckers!). No mention at all. Not even a “I was really happy with the results of your drug test.”

Oh and she did ask me about the referral to the nutritionist. I told her I didn’t use the referral. She asked why. My answer verbatim was “Sounds terrifying”. I’m nothing but honest. Her reaction was epic. Shock, empathy, and some motherly things said thrown in her and there. She wanted to give me another referral, but I told her I wouldn’t use it (I’m honest, people).

She asked if I had any suicidal thoughts recently TWICE. The first time I shook my head and said no. She let it slide and continued with other questions. Then she came back and asked it again. I said no again. She said “Not at all?” and I said “Like ever? Yeah” (obviously) and she said “Within the past 2 weeks?” and I said no. I don’t think she believed me. Maybe my depression and anxiety questionnaires looked too good to be true.

OR maybe I am just doing better. Football is going well. Being on 50,000 IUs of Vitamin D has helped more than I’d like to admit and so has the doubling of the Zoloft up to 200mg. I know she’s just trying to protect herself legally if something where to happen.

Anyway, I was looking at my medical chart on the patient portal (obviously not ALL of the dr’s notes…just the stuff they don’t mind the patient seeing). This is now all on my chart:

 photo Capture_zpsii4dkryq.jpg

The criteria for Anorexia has changed since I was in high school. You no longer have to be 85% of your ideal body weight and you no longer have to lose your menstrual cycle (cuz how would males and women on bc pills ever get diagnosed?) STILL, I was shocked she gave me that diagnosis and not OSFED (Otherwise specified feeding or eating disorder) which replaced EDNOS (Eating disorder not otherwise specified). Feb 20th was the date of my first appt with her, in case you were wondering why it didn’t say today’s date.

This is a pic taken 2 weeks ago of me in my football garb (women’s league, full pads) while scrimmaging another team in our division:

 photo standing side_zpsfmr3ttmj.jpg

I’m the tall one on the far left. I admit I was wearing a REALLY lightweight rain jacket under my black compression clothes due to the off and on rain. It was awful generous of her to give me an AN diagnosis. I worked really hard for that in high school when I was skinnier, but never got it because of that 85% rule (I did lose my cycle though for quite awhile).

She did “release” me back to my primary care manager though because A) My claim of no more suicidal thoughts B) my refusal to see the nutritionist because nothing sounds more terrifying than talking about food and meal planning with a complete stranger and C) the meds are working. SO there’s really nothing more she can do on her end.

Yay.


Last updated March 30, 2017


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.