3/28 in --

  • March 28, 2017, 9:47 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I want to talk about my mental illness.

It’s not something I generally discuss in an objective, top-down way. Normally my posts here regarding it are rants or bouts of self-pity. I recognize that can all be hard to read, but it’s also hard to feel.

I am on spring break this week. I only work one day this week – tomorrow. The rest of the week I’ve been struggling to leave my bed. I am so exhausted. This past weekend my kids were with their dad, and I slept for 10 hours, then took a nap later in the day on Saturday. I keep telling myself that I’m going to get up early like I do every day when I’m not on break, but my body feels so heavy and my eyes just won’t open.

I feel betrayed by my body and my mind constantly.

A couple of weeks ago, I was sitting on the couch with my partner, watching Shark Tank when pain radiated through my right arm. I felt my chest burn, like I had run for miles and miles. But I hadn’t. I went to the emergency room and they couldn’t find anything wrong with me (aside from high blood pressure, a side-effect of my anxiety attack). I felt so angry and resentful of my body. I was fine! I didn’t even feel panicked, but I had a panic attack that had physical symptoms, which I’d heard about before, but I didn’t think would happen to me. My panic attacks were dizziness, feeling I was on the edge of fainting.

A week or so before that, I found my body in a scrunched heap on the shower floor, sobbing.
I felt out of control.

Crazy. A word I try not to use, because I know they’re talking about people like me. I don’t fit the social norm of “sanity” but I can tell you that I hide it well.

I am on an anti-depressant. It’s supposed to help me. And, for awhile, it did. I felt amazing. I hadn’t had panic attacks in years, but now they’re coming in waves. That scares me. I know I should probably go back to the clinic because I’m sure that’s not something that should be happening… but the thing is, I don’t care about helping myself as much as I care about helping the people I love. I should love myself too. I know that.

This morning I had a strange, familiar thought: none of this matters. Creating my own meaning from life is too hard, and I really just don’t want to do it. I don’t really care if I exist or not. Etc.

But I do care. I want my brain to stop telling me these things. I want my brain to tell me that I’m good enough, smart enough. I want my brain to stop telling me that I need to lose weight. I want my brain to stop telling me that I’m a burden. I want my brain to care about me in more than a primal, self-preservation way.

I’d like to find a way to shut that off, but I’m afraid. I’m afraid that I’ll always have this double-self, the one that abuses me and the one that’s always fighting against it.


Last updated March 29, 2017


Flame is Love March 28, 2017

The worst part of mental illness is it tells you you're not worth getting help. You are. Tell yourself it's for the kids.

Kpred2004 March 28, 2017

I struggle from anxiety and probably a little depression too. I don't really sleep anymore. I'm up about every two hours and some days I really don't feel like getting out of bed either.

There's even times when my anxiety literally chokes me and my throat tightens and I have to massage the muscles to relax.

You are worth it, go talk to your doctor. Life shouldn't look like this.

Fawkes Gal March 29, 2017

hugs Do you have a therapist you can talk to about this? I know it can be hard to find a good one who is actually helpful, but I did find it helpful just to have someone to listen from time to time.

Small Town Girl April 01, 2017

Sorry you are going through this. I know how that black hole feels and sucks you, refusing to let you escape. You can fight thought this! HUGS.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.