For Jigger in Just in Case

  • March 24, 2017, 6:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Here’s some pics of the incubator. Luckily enough the eggs came from our librarian, who will get any chicks that make it. She lives about 2 minutes from the school, so she’ll be turning our eggs for us this weekend. :)
Here’s our eggs. She didn’t wash them, as you can see, lol. I’m not sure what kind. I meant to ask today, but there just never seems to be time.
 photo 20170324_070930.jpg

The incubator. It will handle 2 dozen, and has channels in the bottom for water so you can control the humidity.
 photo 20170324_070802.jpg

The intimidating control panel.
 photo 20170324_070809.jpg

We watched a video that showed day by day how the chick progresses and the kids loved it. They are so excited. This is definitely one of the times the teacher gets the benefit. :) I will get to snuggle the new babies. I’m hoping to candle the eggs at the end of next week.


Jigger March 24, 2017

Nice!! My father had an old wooden one when I was a kid in Wisconsin, but he had a styrofoam one like this by the time I was a teenager. I found a CLASSIC great big old wooden one at an antique mall that would have made a fabulous coffee table...but holy shit, not for $575. I want it so badly, but alas.

I can't wait to see your babies. 21 days is all! Will they grow up a little in the classroom? Do you have a heat lamp? Are you prepared for precious distraction, all day long?

dream seeker Jigger ⋅ March 24, 2017

They should hatch right before Easter break, so they will go home right away. Due to allergy issues we aren't allowed furry or feathery pets in the classroom. I couldn't have them in there anyway. I'd pack them around all day. :D

Small Town Girl March 24, 2017

AWWW!! Cool!!

Deleted user March 24, 2017

My Gram had a couple old incubators and she was obsessed with hatching exotic chickens, quail, bob whites, pheasants , Guineas , ducks, geese , a couple of swans , and some peacocks ! We even used them on wild bird eggs my uncles or Grandfather found blown down or in abandoned nests. Some made it, some didn't . It was fun for a kid .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.