Outpouring/the path is the goal in Random Thoughts

Revised: 03/21/2017 10:12 a.m.

  • March 21, 2017, 10:01 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

”When the mind’s activity is stilled, we see life as it is.”

I read a book last month, When Things Fall Apart: Heart Advice for Difficult Times. It was the beginning of perhaps a “growth spurt” in my heart and on my path. I enjoyed the book so much that i want to read it again soon. The second time, slow down and take notes along the way.

My first read through i took away a couple important ideas that i have been integrating into this life.

One of them is embracing the whole range or gamut of human emotion, not just striving for the happy or for the joy. Leaning into the darker, more difficult aspects of my emotional being. I know that therapists have said that in the past, and i have even reiterated it, but this time i think i can know it. This is the place i can be most creative (like the shadow self- which is something i have been learning about for and with therapy) and make change.

The second idea i took has become my new mantra during meditation, “the path is the goal”. I looked that quote up and there is a book on Buddhism by that name, so i think this idea is something well known and thought/written/spoken about. To me, it feels kind of like the idea of “be here now”. Instead of the goal being something far-off (even if it is my yoga retreat that starts Friday), the goal is this moment. This moment is my path.

I almost feel so light and airy that i can float away. I need some grounding if i am to teach 10 and 11 year olds today.

Another book i mentioned in my previous entry is the Bhagavad Gita, i am giving it a re-read this year and taking part in a discussion once a week for 4 weeks (except that i can only make it to 2 of them!). I think most of the people there are in a yoga teacher training and know one another. Currently i am reading the introduction and i lovelovelove it. Let me pull a quote out i read last night.

”If personality consists of several sheaths, the body being only the outermost, there is no reason why personality should die when the body is shed.”

I felt an opening in my heart when i read this, it brought me a little teary. I am not sure why.

It is nearing when students arrive. Mostly i wanted to say that .....

I am not sure.

I love.


Last updated March 21, 2017


Deleted user March 21, 2017

lots of good stuff here. we certainly are a culture that idolizes happiness while shying away from the reality of darkness.

Deleted user March 22, 2017

I love the idea that, " The Path is the goal" !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.