Updates in In the Kingdom of Suzu

  • March 21, 2017, 7:56 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Couple of updates since last we “met”. Had another fat grafting as part of reconstruction on Friday. This time, the doctor took from my upper buttocks and boy am I sore and quite black and blue. Up until Sunday, the discomfort level felt just like when I first had the mastectomy, now it isn’t too bad, just itches where the binder is. I normally take a week off but this time I only took Monday and Tuesday off. The next step in the reconstruction will be getting the nipples. I see the doctor Monday and we will talk about that procedure.

I also saw the knee doctor, unfortunately the next step would be a knee replacement since the microfracture that he did and the shots haven’t really helped. He isn’t a fan of doing both at the same time but if I insisted he would do it. It is an elective surgery and I cannot afford right now to get them done. First, I have been off work for so long already, second we have our May vacation, third, I would like to finish the reconstruction and fourth, I really think y body needs to rest up. I have pain but it is only when I walk, I can bend my knees ok, so I am just going to wait till next year. I don’t know F I will have them done one after another or have one done and then wait a few. Months and have the other—we will see. In the meantime, I am going to restart taking a supplement that encourages joint comfort and double up on the bike and swimming as exercises as those are the exercises the doctor recommended.

My son’s arm has healed quite well and he has been cleared to go back to work next week doing light work so his work is giving him a helper for a couple of weeks. My DIL is still going to sub to catch up on some bills and her mom will watch Mr. N and PrincessE goes to school.

Last but not least, Jeff’s aunt is dying. She has brain cancer and another kind. Jeff talked to his mom to see if she would want to come up from NC to see her sister but she said no because of her own health issues. We looked into a flight for her anyway, we could get her one quite reasonable except flying back she wouldn’t get back to NC until late at night and the airport is 45 minutes from her house. It is a real shame that my in-laws moved that far away just because one of their daughters wanted them to. It has made a real hardship when my FIL was dying as we all live here in PA and also on the flip side, they are unable to see their siblings up here.

Oh yes, we had storm Stella last Tuesday, we got about 11 inches of snow. Thankfully it is march and the snow is melting pretty nicely.


ConnieK March 21, 2017

I'd wondered how you fared through Stella. My stepmom in New England said it wasn't quite as bad as predicted. I think you're right about allowing your body some healing time, but when you get ready for knee surgery, do one after the other. I've seen how painful it is and BOTH knees at the same time might be too much on you. Oh, and I repeat my offer: if you need some fat, I have plenty to offer you! :)

QueenSuzu ConnieK ⋅ March 21, 2017

Ha ha thanks for the offer on giving me some fat. The doctor said there wasn't much more to work on in my stomach area so he took top of my upper buttocks. I must admit that of all the times he has marked me up, I was the most embarrassed with the buttock markings. He said he thought I would be very pleased! I do know that I am pretty black and blue and sore in that area so we shall see.!

ConnieK QueenSuzu ⋅ March 21, 2017

Oh, butt sculpting...I guess you've paid enough dues and deserve this, so i won't be TOO jealous. :)

Deleted user March 22, 2017

I think you are wise to wait on the knee replacement surgeries. You will be doing all that you can to carry on in the interim by taking good care of yourself. I sure wouldn't want you to miss your vacation. Smiles. I will be having surgery but should be well enough afterwards to go on my planned Pacific Northwest trip. I love to travel and I know you do too. I'm so sorry your husband's aunt has brain cancer. On a happier note, I'm glad your son is doing well health-wise. That's wonderful news!

Deleted user March 23, 2017

Ouch ! I can imagine you will be glad to get all the medical things done . Prayers !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.