Tomcat in Adventures in paradise

  • March 19, 2017, 10:27 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Got to work early today so that I could finish early to make it the the final films at the Queer Film Festival. Tegan opened the door and exclaimed, “You’re alive!”

Yes, yes, I know. I wasn’t here yesterday. My own (stupid?) fault. It was SO worth it lol.
So then I had to stretch the truth all day and just tell everyone that I was sick, which is only part-true. So it’s not a complete lie lol. Apparently the store manager was there but I didn’t even see him. Normally he’s pretty cool but I wasn’t gonna risk it and he hook off and the dickhead manager was on instead, but even he’s been being nice to me, so I’m not sure what that’s about.
I did get called to the manager’s office at one point. I was like, “Here we go!” lol.
Turns out they just wanted me to sign into our work’s portal and add my phone number to my profile, because it isn’t on there. You know, I’ve only been working back there for nearly 5 years now. And they don’t have my phone number? Really?
Anyway, apparently Tegan had to watch me input the data lol. What am I gonna do? Not do it? I could have put any number in there. How would she have known?
Anyway, at first I couldn’t get it to log in so I had to reset the password and get an email, but the email took forever to come through and Tegan ended up getting impatient and leaving. I had enough of my own work to do! Anyway it finally came through and I logged in and added it, so now if something like what happened on Friday night happens again, they’ll be able to ask where the hell I am.
God, I still can’t believe my luck that night. Two hotties one after the other!

After work I walked to the film festival for the short films. Luke had been asking if I was going, so I caught up with him and his friend there. Some of the short films were okay, but I didn’t think they were as good as the ones last week. A guy Luke’s dating was in one of the short films and he pointed him out to us. Looked cute from what I could tell.

We went to Gerties across the road afterward and shared a bottle of champagne between us. I was feeling it after only my two glasses lol. Such a Cadbury. Luke’s friend was hilarious. It was hard to get a word in edgewise actually.
A really colourful old man walked past the window and struck up conversation with us. He had rainbow colours all over his walker. Later on, he entered the venue and asked if he could join us. Luke’s friend was like ‘Sure!’ but then because he sat near me, I got to hear all about the vegetables he eats each day lol. It was a little bit awkward but he was very friendly and harmless.
I went to refill my water glass and two guys who were sitting at a table asked me, “Are you Matt P_____?” and I was like, “Yeah” and they said they were a friend of mine’s uncles. I remembered because I met them once at a Chinese restaurant in Sydney, except I remember I had just come from a place that had $6 long-island-iced-teas so I rocked up to this posh resturant with my friend’s family DRUNK as a skunk. Oooo boy. Probably not the best first impression lol. Anyway, it was really nice of them to pull me aside, and I chatted to them for quite a while. Enough so that the old guy decided to say goodbye to everyone and left the venue lol.
I went back to sit with the boys and Luke’s friend asked how Luke and I knew each other, and Luke said, “We used to date.” Still so funny every time I hear that because it was at least 10 years ago now. He left a bit later, and Luke and I had a bit more of a chat about random things. I asked how he met his current date, the one who was in the movie.
The champers had gone straight to my head and I found myself thinking about kissing him LOL. How weird would that have been? Anyway, I told him that when we dated, I was terrified of him whenever he got angry. He was surprised and reckons he’s not like that any more. I dunno. We’ve both been through a lot in the years we weren’t really communicating I guess. I also told him a lot about my sex life. I really need to avoid the champs LOL. He probably didn’t want to hear that.
I do always love spending time with him, even as a long-term friend. He’s still got his hot looks even all these years on.

We parted ways and I went to the Night Owl to grab a drink before the movie (much cheaper buying it there) and there was a bit of line in front of me and the lady serving flashed me an awkward smile as though, “I wish these people would hurry up.”
I got to the front of the line and she asked what I was up to and I said I was going to the film festival up the road. She asked what it was and I told her, “The Queer Film festival. I got every year.”
She was a lady of Indian descent and said, “I don’t understand all that”. I figured that her culture probably forbids homosexuality, so that didn’t really surprise me. I just continued, saying that I’d seen quite a few great films and that some of my favourites were the French films and some of the Indian ones (which is true). She then goes to me, “You’re not gay are you?” but not in a condescending way, but more of a curious way.
I replied, “Sure I am!” and smiled at her. She was actually really stunned at my answer.
I already knew she was a very friendly person. She was actually the owner of the business and her husband was taking over her shift at 8pm. We initially started chatting when I asked if there was an EFTPOS limit, and it was only $3 so that was fine. She said her bank charges 90cents per transaction just to use EFTPOS. I was like, “They must make a fortune!” Apparently that’s Westpac for you.
Anyway, she goes, “I don’t get the ones who put it out there.” (as in the flamboyant gays and referring that I wasn’t that flamboyant) and I just replied to her, “They are just being themselves. I’m being myself. Why would I be anything else? I didn’t choose to be gay, I just am.”
I was very confident talking with her. I appreciated her listening. I told her a bit about my family and how I came out 14 years ago and my parents still don’t like it and that I didn’t talk to my dad for three years but then I had advice (from some of you guys) that he won’t be around forever, so I decided to make an effort.
She then opened up and told me that two of her brothers have been diagnosed with cancer, with one given a year to live.
Man. I was so sorry for her. How heavy that must be on her. But I think our conversation brought a bit of perspective, you know? She might have been totally homophobic for all I knew. She definitely wasn’t for it, and she had no idea the festival was showing just up the road from her shop. She did say that as long as everyone is happy because “Life is too short”.
Anyway, in the end, she introduced herself by name (I already knew from her nametag lol) and shook my hand and told me to have a good night. I walked out with a smile on my face.

I then went back to the cinema and saw “Tomcat”. This time was a German film.
It was such a borefest. The main star of the movie was the damn cat in it. And then something shocking suddenly happened like all in a split second. I almost missed it, it happened that quick, plus I had almost fallen asleep from boredom in my chair. If you’re a cat lover, you probably will hate this film, and I am a cat lover. But the split-second thing that happens was a real shock and then the rest of the film is based on that moment, but it becomes a complete borefest again in no time at all. Zzzzzzzz.

My favourite movies were definitely Paris 5:59 (French), “Being 17” (French) and “Teenage Kicks” (Australian). I think I’ll get those three on DVD when they are available.

Home now. Thank God it’s the weekend.


Perpetually Plump March 19, 2017

What is this two in one night you speak of? Did I miss this entry? You are bad! Who the hell has a cat as a main character if the film isn't Disney? That's weird...

KissOfLife! Perpetually Plump ⋅ March 20, 2017

Apologies! For some reason you weren't checked as 'friends' and it was a 'friends only' entry but you can go back and read it if you want.
Haha yeah well the cat acted better than the humans did lol.

Swanny March 19, 2017

Isn't it nice how a genuine human connection can really make a night. Glad you had a great night out :)

KissOfLife! Swanny ⋅ March 20, 2017

It so did!! Thanks :)

~Octopussy~ March 20, 2017

André Techiné, who directed Being 17, is a very famous director in France. "Wild Reeds" is considered a classic gay movie from the 90s and "The Witnesses" is one of the best AIDS films I've ever seen and very effective because it explains a lot about the way the French have their relationships. I'm very interested in seeing Being 17 because his work is always peerless.

KissOfLife! ~Octopussy~ ⋅ March 20, 2017

Oh wow, cool! Yeah it was prob my second fav.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.