Iris in Scottish Meanderings

  • March 19, 2017, 6:44 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Whilst searching for the film 'Iris' about Iris Murdoch the other day, I came across a documentary about Iris Apfel instead. I was captivated. Not just by the fact that at 90 (when the doc was made) she still looks fabulous but also by the fact she speaks a lot of sense for someone who has worked in the somewhat pretentious world of fashion in New York for many years.

This is a short clip of her when she was interviewed for Newsnight on a visit to London when she was 93 just to give you a flavour of her if you want.


I was reading on someone's diary the other day about her wanting to 'break out of the box' and try different things regarding her wardrobe and it made me think about that when I watched the documentary. Iris discovered a talent for style very early on, developed it and used it to her advantage and I love the fact she still dresses just as well in her nineties, explores flea markets with delight and has such a great eye for accessories. She can change the plainest of outfits just by a few pieces of jewellery but she definitely has an eye for what to pick and how to put it all together. The documentary also explores her relationship with her husband, Carl, (now deceased) who lived until he was almost 101. They worked together, lived together, had no children and were still obviously just as much in love as when they first got together.

Quite a testament.

And then I watched the 'Iris' I'd originally been looking for and wept at the ravages of Alzheimers.

Dirty Numb Angelboy March 19, 2017

This is the first time I've heard of her. She's awesome!

Marg Dirty Numb Angelboy ⋅ March 20, 2017

Isn't she? I hadn't heard of her before either!

Dirty Numb Angelboy Marg ⋅ March 20, 2017

She has sass. I enjoyed watching that video. She's awesome and I didn't know the lady from the incredibles was based on her. Now I get it. The glasses and fashion.

Marg Dirty Numb Angelboy ⋅ March 20, 2017

I love how she still gets such interest and enjoyment from life - it's so easy to give up when you get to that age!

history of love March 19, 2017

I just love her glasses! She has good style.

Marg history of love ⋅ March 20, 2017

She does indeed!

ODSago March 19, 2017

I saw the documentary and have seen the film about Murdoch. What a contrast your viewing brought you. I think it takes a very rare person to change a costume with the addition of a scarf and a jewelry addition...etc. It's the personality that allows that to happen. We have one of those in town, fabulously wealthy, hat wearer and personality to the max. I like seeing her but wouldn't want to be her. Murdoch deserved better at the end of life, didn't she? There's a book her husband wrote...on my shelves here, about her and I believe the film was based on that. I forget.

Marg ODSago ⋅ March 20, 2017

Yes you're right it was. I read it yonks ago - time to have another reading I think.

ODSago Marg ⋅ March 20, 2017

Me too...need another reading.

Sabrina-Belle March 19, 2017

I've never seen her before, what an amazing woman!

Marg Sabrina-Belle ⋅ March 20, 2017

She's still going strong as far as I know as well!

MageB March 19, 2017

Yes, I like this Iris's spunk. You can see her quite a bit in/on Advanced Style.

http://www.advanced.style/

Marg MageB ⋅ March 20, 2017

Oh thanks for the link - I'll go check that out!

Deleted user March 19, 2017

I have seen lots of pictures of the fashion icon . She is an artist .

Marg Deleted user ⋅ March 20, 2017

I'd never heard of her before - amazing that she's still going strong!

Deleted user Marg ⋅ March 20, 2017

It is amazing ! Life is still interesting for her .

Marg Deleted user ⋅ March 20, 2017

She said she has a problem making friends with anyone if they didn't have any enthusiasm or curiosity for life :)

Beret March 21, 2017

I've never heard of her but got to love anyone who can pull those glasses off!

NorthernSeeker March 22, 2017

Good style is a gift at any age. I like her black and silver outfit.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.