Everything..... in These titles mean nothing.

  • March 18, 2017, 3:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

..... and its cousin.

Twitter told me Syliva Plath said this:

I lean to you, numb as a fossil. Tell me I’m here.

I wrote an entry here this morning, left it for a while and then made it private.

I washed dishes. I found things. I took the Nuick to town full of plastic sacks of nickel and non-nickel cans. I washed the car and it looks sharp. I saw a flock of robins, my first of the season.

I went to a meeting of our state legislators. There was a big crowd and people behaved fairly well. The meeting began with a prayer and ended with a Bible reading. Everything seems so hopeless.

I went to the library and printed tax forms. I bought gas and stuff. Three places. Silly me. I came home. I am here.

I have a million things to write about. Except when I’m here I don’t.

Tomorrow we meet the kids and Hans in Chatfield for late morning breakfast. Hans is coming to spend time with us again. His family is going to Key West.

Today would be a nice day for a walk.

Tell me I’m here.

================

Here is the whole poem.

Sylvia Plath - Two Campers In Cloud Country
Rock Lake, Canada)

In this country there is neither measure nor balance
To redress the dominance of rocks and woods,
The passage, say, of these man-shaming clouds.

No gesture of yours or mine could catch their attention,
No word make them carry water or fire the kindling
Like local trolls in the spell of a superior being.

Well, one wearies of the Public Gardens: one wants a vacation
Where trees and clouds and animals pay no notice;
Away from the labeled elms, the tame tea-roses.

It took three days driving north to find a cloud
The polite skies over Boston couldn’t possibly accommodate.
Here on the last frontier of the big, brash spirit

The horizons are too far off to be chummy as uncles;
The colors assert themselves with a sort of vengeance.
Each day concludes in a huge splurge of vermilions

And night arrives in one gigantic step.
It is comfortable, for a change, to mean so little.
These rocks offer no purchase to herbage or people:

They are conceiving a dynasty of perfect cold.
In a month we’ll wonder what plates and forks are for.
I lean to you, numb as a fossil. Tell me I’m here.

The Pilgrims and Indians might never have happened.
Planets pulse in the lake like bright amoebas;
The pines blot our voices up in their lightest sighs.

Around our tent the old simplicities sough
Sleepily as Lethe, trying to get in.
We’ll wake blank-brained as water in the dawn.


Last updated March 18, 2017


Neogy Titwhistle March 18, 2017

I didn't get to that entry in time. Should I be sad?

woman in the moon Neogy Titwhistle ⋅ March 18, 2017

I don't know. You might have had some good advice.

Just Annie March 18, 2017

I read the entry you made private, but I didn't comment. Obviously.

Deleted user March 18, 2017

You accomplished quite a bit today. I bet that feels good. And when you saw the flock of robins, in that moment did you feel like you were here?

Serin March 19, 2017

I have things to write about, but they happen out there and I'm no longer prepared as I used to be for roving thoughts. I was reading a book where some luminary (I think it was Coelho) said, "The good ideas stick" so don't bother with notebooks.

I try not to worry about the empty notebooks.

woman in the moon Serin ⋅ March 19, 2017

I wonder about all that is written, saved, etc. Will anyone ever have time to look at it? But when I take time to look at the past I'm always glad I saved it. Maybe it's like other things in life: ok if you do, ok if you don't.
Just looked up Coelho - I'd never heard of him. He is praying tonight at 8:30 - it's 8:07 right now - to St. Joseph.
Glorious St. Joseph
model of all who are devoted to labor,
obtain for me the grace
to work conscientiously by placing love of duty above my inclinations;
to gratefully and joyously deem it an honor to employ and to develop by labor
the gifts I have received from God,
to work methodically, peacefully,
in moderation and patience,
without ever shrinking from it through difficulty to work;
above all, with purity of intention and unselfishness,
having unceasingly before my eyes
the account I have to render of time lost,
talents unused, good not done,
and vain complacency in success.
St. Joseph, inspire and guide me for the time to come.

Now there's food for thought.

Serin woman in the moon ⋅ March 19, 2017

I've not actually read him but he's been on my radar for some time. The Alchemist is the one I keep hearing about. Soon.

Deleted user March 19, 2017

Sometimes i wish I was a fossil .

noko March 20, 2017

It does seem that lately, at least here, night does arrive in one giant step. I like that prayer. Thanks for adding it to your notes.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.