Justin Bieber/Martin Garrix concert in Adventures in paradise

  • March 14, 2017, 2:05 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was supposed to meet Steve at central and thought I had heaps of time to, but then next thing I know there’s a tap on my window and a knock on my door. I just went out there in my underwear to answer it because I assumed it was just my housemate who had forgotten his key again, but nope, it was Steve standing there.
Doh, how embarrassing.
I wasn’t expecting him for at least another half-hour. I was stunned that he still remembered where I lived! He hasn’t been here in forever it seems.
So I went and threw some clothes on quickly. His train was express so had gotten here quicker.
We then walked down to central and showed our tickets to the guy, because anyone with tickets got free travel.

I actually found my old ticket from when I saw him in 2013 haha.
alt text

Of course the train was packed like sardines with people cramming onto it. I had to hold onto a seat to keep from falling over. Some people were even standing in the gap between the carriages. We departed at Milton and went and grabbed some overpriced food from one of the Red Rooster kiosks, and I should have just went with the chicken strips rather than the burger, because the burger made me feel absolutely ill. I was thankful that I’d only gotten water as my drink, because I felt like I was about to hurl after that. That’s stadium food for ya.

We found our seats. Julian was already there and had been for quite a while. Someone was keen! We were up in the grandstands. Other patrons decided to use our aisle as a walkway to get past, so that was a bit annoying. Also, everyone in front stood up during the famous songs so we could hardly see shit, so that too was annoying. Certainly didn’t get that at Adele. I mean sure, I get that they wanted to get up and dance, but fuck, so rude for the people behind. Especially little kids who have no height to them at all. There was no way I was standing up. Not with my 191cm height. I’m not gonna be a cunt, like the people in front of us were.

But anyway, it was a really good concert. I walked in when Sheppard were playing but didn’t actually see much of them. We sat down in time for Martin Garrix. It was quite a spectacle. The amount of light and sound that was coming from that stage and the speakers was a real overload on the senses, and considering he’s a world famous DJ, it was pretty intense. Even Julian noted that it reminded him of his heavy drug-using days. I’m thankful it didn’t seem to be a trigger for him. I only took Snapchats of bits of it. I wasn’t gonna video the whole thing.
It was this, constantly, for about an hour. Not for the epileptic, that’s for sure.

Bieber came on stage at 8:16pm, 1 minute late. He was in a good mood the whole concert and it actually seemed to go rather quick. Maybe it’s just because I’ve been to so many this year already. Three months into the year and I’ve already seen 10 famous/ex-famous artists perform on stage (Liberty X, East 17, S Club, Atomic Kitten, B*Witched, The Veronicas, Steve Grand, Adele, Martin Garrix and Justin Bieber). And that was pretty much in the past 3 or 4 weeks. Insane!

I have a full-length video of ‘Sorry’ which I’ll just edit into this later. I don’t think anyone here really cares lol. So in the meantime, here’s my rendition on the walk home :P

I had to get a selfie before everyone took off
alt text

It was pretty good! The fireworks were definitely an awesome advantage to it being an outdoor concert. And the screaming from the girls echoed out of the stadium, unlike the entertainment centre in 2013 where I almost went deaf even wearing earplugs.
Anyway, good fun. Good company. Stupid food.


•kitkat• March 14, 2017

I'd really like to see Martin Garrix. My husband and I both are pretty big EDM fans.

KissOfLife! •kitkat• ⋅ March 14, 2017

You'd have loved it! Maybe go to an event like Tomorrowland or something cos I think that's EDM all day :D
It was a bit much for my senses. I must be getting old :( haha

•kitkat• KissOfLife! ⋅ March 14, 2017

I would LOVE Tomorrowland. We were in Las Vegas last summer when they were setting up for the Electric Daisy Carnival but we left the day it was supposed to actually start. We saw Zedd in 2015 and that was really awesome!

~Octopussy~ March 14, 2017

I kick people who are in my way.

Complicated Disaster March 15, 2017

Doesn't everyone stand up at concerts?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.