Exit Strategy in New Beginnings

  • March 11, 2017, 10:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Did you ever get insight into what you want by missing out on it? I’ve been formulating my exit plans from my current company. Specifically, I’ve been making instructions of my responsibilities so when I leave, my replacement, my coworkers, and my manager won’t be excessively burdened. Generally, I was thinking I’d maybe start applying for positions at the end of this year or early next year. Oh, and I’m going to move to Athens, Georgia, where I’ve been aching to move back to for the past eight years. Anyways, I’d specify that I’d need start date two months in the future, one month to transition my responsibilities at work, and another month to move.

My fear with that plan was that asking for so much lead time might make finding a position difficult. Employers prefer candidates that can start much sooner. Well, I was looking at house listings, and I found gorgeous, quaint house that was everything I could want and $40k cheaper than my current residence. I was so inspired, I contacted a realtor to see it. My current residence is paid off as I’ve mentioned, and I have sufficient savings and a strong credit score to get another home loan. The possibility of following through with this move breathed new life into me. Unfortunately, someone made an offer on the house before I could see it. However, I at least now know how I’m going to proceed.

I’m going to secure a house first. I think I’ll do so early next year during the winter months when prices are down. At that point, I’ll have an Athens address to put on my applications. I can also start moving my possessions there ahead of myself. The hardest part will be moving the cats; I’ll have to move them last. Once all of that is complete, I can give a much earlier start date to potential employers. I’ll have all my instructions complete, so I can take a much earlier exit date from my current employer. After all of that, spring will be approaching when most people are looking to move, so I can sale my current residence pretty quickly. Since, I don’t have a current mortgage to pay off, I don’t even really need to secure employment before moving. The proceeds from selling my house would more than cover my expenses for a good long while. As long as this economic boom keeps going, finding a job and selling my house won’t be a problem. I’ll have eight years of employment experience, six years with my previous company, and an active CPA license. My only gripe is that I’ll have to leave my Jiu Jitsu school, but thankfully my current instructor has a brown belt student who has his own school in Athens, so could keep training (almost) as normal.

I’m so excited. Fresh air. Clear skies. A 15 minute commute. I only have to last one more year. I don’t dread going into the office anymore.


Star Maiden March 13, 2017

Does this need all this planning ahead of time?

I'm not trying to be rude, I just think its a lot easier than this. For one, you have no responsibility to provide your current company anything more than 2 week notice. No need to train anyone. No need to make a list of things you do. That's not something that need to be done, even if they ask you for it.

I'm not sure about your job, but a lot of jobs in my profession offer relocation assistance. They don't care where you're located now, they will hire you and help you move. Some will even buy your house off you if it doesn't sell in a couple of months.

If I was you, I would work on getting the new job first, the rest comes later. And I don't think its unreasonable to tell them you need a month before you start. Especially if you need to relocate. I would also be looking now, not next year. Why wait? You'll have another review before then as well, won't you?

Small Town Girl March 13, 2017

I was wondering the same. Why do you need to stay with the same company for a year?

Marg May 31, 2017

I think it sounds very sensible and is very well thought out. It gives you the maximum amount of security and ties up all loose ends neatly.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.