Saturday morning, early.... in These titles mean nothing.

  • March 11, 2017, 5:16 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

… I went back to the place I was staying away from. It was the same as when I left it. Not better, not worse. I am the same person I was before too. Life is like that. It goes on. Whether we want it to or not.
.
It’s cold this morning. 18 degrees on the F. scale. I put wood in the fire. I will warm up coffee. I will tie my shoes. Wait. Didn’t I do that yesterday? Heck. That shoe-tying is a job that just has to be done over and over again. Putting wood in the stove is pretty repeating too. I guess that’s why they’re called chores and we don’t really have to put them in every narrative. What goes in a narrative is the less usual things.

I tried to write two words in the above paragraph that causes red squiggles. I don’t have time or patience to google correct spellings so I used my father’s advice and just substituted a word that I could spell.

Question: Have you ever played hooky? Not gone somewhere you were supposed to go? Started out, say on your way to work, and then just changed your mind and did something else? I never have but I’ve thought about it fairly often. Yesterday for instance. I was tempted to pull over on the shoulder of the road and just wait for the sun to come up and then go find somewhere to drink coffee and eat bacon and eggs. I could go to Maggie’s. I would have to wait in the parking lot for her to open.... but I could do that.

I used to think about picking up a construction worker at a convenience store but I think I’m past that now. I might buy a notebook and pen and write a while after I’m done with my coffee and bacon and eggs. If I keep drinking coffee I will switch to decaff at some point - no use cranking myself up to extreme caffeine poisoning.

Question two: Have you ever spent a whole paycheck foolishly? Well of course we all have. But I mean on purpose. Just went out and blew it. I never did that either. I’ve let a lot of money slip through my fingers, spent it on ‘cigarettes and magazines’ to quote Jack Nicholson. But never just took the cash from a week’s pay and spent it on a construction worker I met at Kwik Trip. I suppose I would have to take him shopping at Cabela’s.

Oh well, you know me. I’m not going to do either of those things. I just slog away in my ruts and make one day follow the next. It’s time to get moving. There is another political meeting I could go to after I get off work. The last one I didn’t go to… for various reasons. I meant to tell you but I never got around to it.

Have a good day, everyone.... a good weekend. A good rest of your life. Spring is coming to the northern hemisphere and we could stand some.


gattaca March 11, 2017

18F is a tad chilly.

I spent a few paychecks foolishly, on drugs, when I was much younger. But youth does not excuse this.

Time for my Spam and eggs.

NorthernSeeker March 11, 2017

The rumour of not working on Saturdays was sadly wrong. I used to dream of jumping in my Camaro and going for a road trip...just heading out and not telling anyone. I guess I like my life better now because I don't have that dream anymore. Mr. NT's father blew a whole paycheque betting on racehorses in Vancouver. That was back in the 1960s. He also lost considerable money on the stock market over the years. I've never spent a whole paycheque on unnecessary things. For most of my life I had loans and the money was largely spoken for ahead of time. I can fall in love with things like candy red mustangs (the car) at any time, though, and I could easily convince myself that the change in lifestyle would be worth the debt.

Good questions.

Deleted user March 11, 2017

I played hooky often in HS but then I made myself be more responsible. I never have blown a paycheck ; I always fear running out of money :-) Now that I think about it ; I am not very adventurous but I did pick up a nuclear physicist one time . He was a really nice guy !

Deleted user March 11, 2017

I should have married him :-)

ODSago March 12, 2017

I want to live a second life with your mind in my head...love entries like yours.

ODSago March 12, 2017

I played in a ditch when I was eight on the way to school and got there at ten o'clock when the children were having their fruit break. I have no idea if I were picked up by aliens and returned or just having a good time. I had a platonic friendship with a writer who now is losing his mental capabilities. In care. I doubt I had anything to do with that. Once I spent a bonus check on gifts for Kermit and myself before understanding that it could be used for needed bills. I was 18, and it was a Christmas bonus so I thought it was extra, like an allowance. Kermit was not pleased with the jewelry box I bought him and the stack of books I bought myself...he said, as I remember, that what use books were he couldn't understand since I read so fast and each of them would be finished by Christmas.

Serin March 13, 2017

The very first time I ever skipped a class at school, a buddy and I hopped on the train and went on an adventure.... to the new central branch of the public library. It was enormous and we had a ball. And then we wandered to the other side of the square and realized that we were cutting class right in front of our school board's building.

I was a literate delinquent.

noko Serin ⋅ March 14, 2017

I used to cut school and go to this musty used bookstore and sit in a back corner and read National Geographic magazines. Must be a literate delinquent as well.

Serin noko ⋅ March 14, 2017

My kind of hooligan! :)

Purple Dawn March 14, 2017

no, can't say I've ever blown an entire paycheque like that. I'm getting cheaper as I get older too :/

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.