Ah, morning.... in These titles mean nothing.

  • March 10, 2017, 2:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

… do you ever run your life as if it’s a narrative?

Example: I just topped off my coffee cup and turned off the coffee pot. Then I ran a brush through my hair and sat down at the computer. I thought, wow, maybe I could write a prose box entry. A short, whatever happens one. But first I give the dog a kiss and a hug and let her out. I’m also thinking about putting socks on.

And then by the time I get this far, the dog is back at the door wanting in. So I let her in.

I still have socks to deal with.

Ok, socks on and shoes on and tied. Pretty much ready for the day.

It’s Friday and tomorrow is supposed to be the last Saturday we will have to work. No one ever knows for sure. Life is sort of an up there thing. Whatever happens happens.

I read a story about a man in Missouri who was a KKK wizard who was killed by his wife or his stepson or by some combination of the two. There was a picture of the house they lived in. It sure made me hope my house is never photoed like that. Of course by the time your house becomes ‘news’, you are probably beyond caring what it looks like.

I guess we need to be thankful for the ordinary. For a life that presents small problems that do not draw news photographers. And do not result in Twitter posts.

Yes, let us be thankful for the mundane. For coffee in a cup and socks on our feet.

This is last summer’s rose.

alt text


Just Annie March 10, 2017

Good morning!

Deleted user March 10, 2017

Have a great morning and day ! Good to see an entry from you !
I would be humiliated to have anyone see most of my house today . Ugh !

noko March 10, 2017

There was an article in the NYT's last year about people who die alone in their places in the city and there were pictures of one apartment and the blinds were banged up and akimbo and I swear I think of that picture every day as I open and close my blinds. My place is cluttered a bit and not the cleanest ever but my blinds are straight. :)

noko March 10, 2017

And I love the light on that rose. Someday we will have light again...

NorthernSeeker March 10, 2017

I often think of myself as an omniscient narrator might describe me. No more working Saturdays...does that mean you are going down to a 4 day work week or is the factory closing early?

woman in the moon NorthernSeeker ⋅ March 12, 2017

I think it means we work five day weeks - for a while. The place is still closing down, just don't know when. Odd situation.

gattaca March 10, 2017

I try to be thankful for the mundane and ordinary...I am very thankful my wonderful boxer Cara is here and she wags her tail whenever I pat her on the head. ;-)

Deleted user March 10, 2017

That's a beautiful rose, unlike any I've seen.

Deleted user March 11, 2017

The mudane can be miraculous in its way ..

Serin March 12, 2017

No, but sometimes I feel like some days are from the pages that got crumpled up after the first draft got edited.

Dogs are better huggees than cats. I think it's the claws. :)

Purple Dawn March 14, 2017

Ordinary is a wonderful feeling

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.