Gender neutral in Jessica and Me

  • March 3, 2017, 11:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I haven’t written about this until now, but I made a commitment back in January to only use gender-neutral or unisex restrooms when I am out in public. It’s a decision I made in solidarity with the trans community. I am not trans myself, but one of my closest friends was born female but now identifies as genderqueer.

This commitment has been more of a challenge than I thought it would be. But in some ways I see that as a good thing because it has allowed me to appreciate the struggle that trans people have just to find a safe place to pee…something the rest of us really take for granted.

I was at a coffee shop yesterday that didn’t have a gender-neutral restroom, so I didn’t go even though I needed to. Next door was a Subway. I know that many of them do have gender-neutral restrooms, so I went in there, but this particular location did not.

My need to pee was getting more urgent, so I ended up driving several miles out of my way to be able to stop at a small shopping center that I knew had a restroom for me.

I’m fortunate that my office has unisex restrooms because otherwise I don’t know what I’d do during my work day.

I don’t expect too many people to do the same thing I’m doing, but it would be a nice experiment for most people to at least notice how often they do or do not see a gender neutral restroom in public places.


Deleted user March 03, 2017

How about we all just use the same restroom--problem solved.

Foofah March 04, 2017

I have never took the time to notice if places have gender neutral bathrooms. I know my workplace does not. I'm not sure my bladder will allow me to restrain from emptying until I find a neutral bathroom, but I'll definitely make it a point to be more aware of if they are available or not. Thanks for opening my eyes to this, I'm a big supporter of the LGBTQ community, but have never thought to pay notice to this, have always just said we should all be able to use the restroom of our choice.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.