Winter Quarter in The Wanderer

  • March 1, 2017, 6:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well school is flying by as usual! Next quarter will be my last quarter as an undergrad! I am preparing for graduation, and I do not want to walk, but since I’m in the Honors, I have to–which means I need to buy all of that expensive grad stuff. I want to decorate my cap with that meme of the universe that has an arrow that points to a speck representing earth and says “You Are Here”.

I found out last month I was not accepted into the PhD program at Duquesne, so I have been focusing on Masters programs. I should hear back from the MFT and GE program in a couple of weeks–so I really hope I at least get into one of those programs.

Up until this quarter, I have gotten straight A’s and I felt like if anything, my GPA will really help boost my chances of getting into grad school–but this quarter has been so difficult taking BioPsych and I have gotten a B on both midterms…So I am trying to prepare myself for the eventual B that will be marked on my transcript. Sigh.......

Research has been going well! I was promoted to Lab Manager, and I may be able to get reimbursed for the hours I put in this quarter, which will be a couple grand that I can put towards paying off my car. I’m hoping I can quit Yard house by this summer so I can focus on research, studying to retake the GRE, being a teacher’s assistant, and my graduate thesis.

I should be done collecting data for my honors thesis in a couple of weeks, and then I can start writing the second part of my manuscript–and hopefully will be done at the end of spring quarter. I am hoping the results went as hypothesized since I will be presenting at WPA, and even though it happens a lot, I would feel weird about presenting insignificant findings. Hopefully I can discuss how it adds to the literature if that happens at least.

Austin and I have been doing really well! Frank no longer lives at the house, so it is just Austin, me and Max. We are taking a trip to the south to visit Andrea and Tyler and Johnny Boy at the end of this month and I cannot wait for this much needed vacation!

My birthday was kind of a mess because Austin and I got into a huge fight the day John came to town, and we were all planning to go to Temecula. But, of course that didn’t happen. It was a crazy birthday week–and by the time John left I was unsure if Austin and I were going to make it. Over the past few months, we worked on a lot of underlying issues and things are going much better thankfully!

Jasper went blind in October. He suffers from SARDS, and he went suddenly blind in a matter of days. I was so worried about him adjusting, but he is doing pretty well! I cry over him a lot because I imagine him no longer with me and I literally can’t handle the fact that he is getting old and will one day die. I have never been as close to a living being as I am with him, and no dog will ever replace him!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.