Once upon a time in Talk Story

  • Feb. 20, 2017, 7:47 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Aloha…

We are getting quite a bit of rain… and very strong wind right now… should get a bit wilder tonight…

In my last entry I wrote about some of the wildlife I see from my back deck… and with this entry I would like to share with you some of what I see when I go across the road to the ocean…

One day… a couple of years ago… I was sitting on a rock outcropping over the water… when a river otter swam just a few feet from me… a very unique experience…

Of course I see whales from time to time… but they are several hundred yards away… as are the seals and sea lions…

As I walk along the bluff… I see squirrels… chipmunks… and rabbits… and overhead a myriad of birds including hawks… eagles… osprey… and even an owl from time to time… and on the water there are pelicans… cormorants… common murres… and oyster catchers…

Oh yeah… and seagulls… lots and lots of seagulls…

One of my favorite things to do at the ocean… is to sit on one of the benches… close my eyes… and just listen…

I hear the wind… the branches and leaves on the trees dancing in the breeze… the sound of children playing on the beach… the sound of a dog barking as it plays “stick” with it’s owner…

But not today… today there is rain… and lots of it… also as I said… wind… and lots of that too…

Thanks for drifting by… and for your notes to me…

Me ke aloha…


TruNorth February 21, 2017

Reminds me of my MIL's place on Eagle Island - just a few hundred yards off the coast of West Vancouver, BC. It was the smell of forest, green stuff and ocean that I remember so vividly.

Maui Jim TruNorth ⋅ February 21, 2017

Yes... sounds a bit like here...
Smiles............

dream seeker February 25, 2017

It sounds beautiful. Thank you for sharing that with us!

Maui Jim dream seeker ⋅ February 28, 2017

You are most welcome...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.